Help create a sustainable homestead and explore beautiful Boulder, Colorado, USA



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    My name is Joel and I am a Colorado native, music aficionado, Spanish (and kinda German) speaker, and active/adventurous bon-vivant. The only label I've found that actually might fit me is 'multipotentialite' as I have had a long and varied career involving the Medical Field, Tech Startups, Ships, Antarctic Research, Renewable Energy, Homebuiliding, and probably another half-dozen things. I love to travel - with all 7 continents on my passport - and meet and get to know folks from different cultures all over the world. The whole pandemic has actually shifted my focus lately more toward finishing up projects at home and realizing a creative vision for a green, sustainable house in my adopted hometown of Boulder.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Involvement can be just lending a hand on various tasks or it could go much deeper with learning more about any of these trades/skills listed above (or perhaps even teaching me depending on YOUR experience!). Additionally, Boulder is a cultural, educational, spiritual, and adventure mecca. I'm always game to try and improve my Spanish skills and/or try to pick up a new language (including music, as it were).

  • Ayuda


    The work projects are really varied (depending on your abilities/aspirations as well as the seasonal logistics), though all fit within the framework of making things more sustainable, eco-friendly, and self-sufficient. The work schedule can be quite flexible as well, though on the order of 15-20 hours in a given week and will include:

    Installing PV Solar Panels
    Building a Greenhouse
    Building a Climbing Wall
    A Chicken Coop(??)
    Many other building trades (electrical, plumbing, framing, welding)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Alemán: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I'm not formally learning/teaching any languages now, though always game to give it a try and expand my knowledge.

  • Alojamiento


    The living situation will be in a new above-garage loft that’s being built out, so it’s separate from, but connected to the main house. It’s a work in progress, though it has the most spectacular mountain views in the house and even it’s own sunny balcony w/spiral stairs! The basic creature comforts are there - private, partitioned, isolated area with window, bed, dresser, mirror…and part of the work can go toward finishing it out more, if desired. It can be totally self-contained with a mini-fridge, microwave, water kettle (and toilet/sink coming soon), yet right off the bat it may be more realistic to just utilize the main house facilities. I would be living up there myself, except my doggo is slowing down a bit with age and doesn’t dig the stairs so much. In the main house there is myself an awesome dog + kitty, and a couple housemates with interesting careers and interests (GIS, Particle Physics, Martial Arts, Sushi Chef, Guitar/Uke/Bass).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Some of the many fun and interesting things to check out in the immediate vicinity include:
    Mountain/Road Biking
    Skiing/Snowboarding (yes!…prob. into June/July still)
    Kayaking/Tubing/Swimming on the Creek
    Culinary School
    The Startup Business Scene
    Education and Science (NREL, NIST, NOAA, U of Colorado)
    Music/Arts Scene

    ...and chances are that I (or my friends and local co-ops, etc.) have some gear and recommendations to share on all this or other pursuits

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Decent bandwidth internet at the house and I myself pop off to some of the cafes, etc. for some work (actually, it's where I am right now!)

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Street parking is def available and can happen for a shorter stay (sans direct hookups, and per local ordinances etc. would still prob have to be sleeping in the house). For something longer, I actually have a space in my oversized garage (yes, it can fit) with hookups that could be a win-win for a more comfortable space that you're used to. That might be a slightly upgraded scenario than the one posted, but probably workable, so let's talk!

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    I have a dog and a cat already (both friendly) so any additional pets will have to be compatible and well mannered/behaved.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    3-4 hours/day...or 15-20 hours/week w/flexibility on exact schedule (and more hours for pay possible)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 124192433635

Comentarios (7)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Seeking a caring and reliable pet-sitter to look after our beloved furry friends in Memphis, USA
Learn about making mosaic art and living well with a disability, Concord, MA, USA