1 / 5

Help us run horse and wagon trips and wooden cabins in county Laois, Ireland

  • 140 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 13 jun 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are Emily and Eoghan. We run a buisness that provides horse and wagon holidays and run a wooden cabins site in county Laois Ireland. We are looking for help with our horses, cabins, guest and gardening. In return we will provide you with the Irish minimum wage of €12.80 an hour and accommodation.

    We are located in the country side in an area called Ballybrophy only a five minute walk to train station. Which is very convenient for exploring the rest of Ireland .

    We provide horse drawn wagon holidays which offer guests an unique and unforgettable outdoor experience. We teach people how to drive and look after the horse, which allows them to follow a route through small towns and villages through county Laois, experiencing a simple and nomadic life. We have 6 Irish cob horses that are very much part of the family. We also have 5 small cabins on our land which we rent out for people to come stay and relax. Additionally on the land is an old house that we are slowly doing up to convert into a hostel.


    There is something for everyone here be it horse care, construction, gardening or hospitality !
    We are both in are early 20s and love to meet new people and share different cultures. We love the outdoors, traditional Irish music and enjoy hiking and camping in our free time.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Travelers will get to engage with horses and learn from hands on experience as well as meeting people from all over the world.

    Both of us are very passionate about Irish culture. Here we are trying to keep a little bit of old Ireland alive with our friendly hospitably, knowledge of local history and overall simpler way of living . We love traditional Irish music, Eoghan plays the banjo and we enjoy spending Saturdays evenings in a good pub listen to musicians play.

    Our horses are key part of an old way of life in Ireland, keeping them as working horses is very important to us. The Irish Cob was bred by the travelling community and for hundreds of years these sturdy hard-working horses pulled wagons and carts throughout Ireland, Britain and Europe.

    We also love to travel and learn about other cultures. We are very excited to meet new people and love showing them what our country has to offer.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are a very small buisness which means there will be an opportunity to try everything. It also means each day the work may vary but in general these are what we be looking for someone to help with:

    Assist with care of the horses i.e. Cleaning tack, grooming horses, and catching them from field.

    Assisting in the process of teaching the guests how to drive the wagon and take care of the horse (we will provide you with training in this area).

    Help with the cleaning of glamping cabins, wagon, toilets and common areas.

    Assisting in guest care such as showing people to there cabin or wagon and answering questions.

    Overall help with maintaining of site i.e. simple gardening work and painting.

    In return for your work we will provide you with minimum wage in Ireland is € 12.80 an hour and accommodation.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We can provide private bedroom in house ( bed, dresser, wardrobe, desk ) with shared bathroom, kitchen and living space. Sheets/towels are included and WIFI. We do not provide meals.

    We are a 5 min walk from Ballybrophy train which can allow you to explore other areas of Ireland on your days off. Train station is on the Cork to Dublin line and it is pretty easy to get to most major towns and city with the train.

    The closest village is Rathdowney about 7km away from site. Which has local supermarket, café, pubs and pharmacy. Nearest larger town is Portlaoise which has lots of shops, restaurants and cinema it can be reached by train. We are rural located meaning bit of planning must be put into supplies but we will always be popping in and out town and would be happy to give lifts.

    We also provide you with a bike for use during your stay.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Local sites include Donaghmore workhouse museum, Slieve Bloom Mountains and historic towns such as Durrow and Abbeyleix. We are located in rural country side so a slower place of life is what we have here.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Must be okay with people and horses

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    6 hours, 4-5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 123863345413

Fotos

Comentarios

Speak French to our children County Sligo, Ireland
Step back in time in East Galway, off the tourist trail in Ireland