Dog School & Dog Hotel (boarding kennels) in Halle, near Gütersloh, Germany

Country

Alemania

450 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    31/10/2017

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    97

  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contacto Registro
  2019 

 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are running a dog school in the area of Guetersloh since several years, that means we give courses in educating dogs - or better in educating dog owners. Four times a week we offer so called play groups in the afternoon, where people come with their dogs to let them play.
    Also we are running a Dog Hotel. We use 10.000 qm land, a little lake and a part of our house for the Dog Hotel. Up to 25 dogs can stay with us. They stay in the group altogether during the day, only at night they stay in kennels. Therefore we only take dogs that are getting along with other dogs.
    Even though our business is running already, we are not finished in renovating our house and fixing the garden. There are still fences to be put up, rooms to paint ecetera.
    We also need help in caring for the dogs. Especially when we are busy with courses or playgroups, somebody needs to look after our hotel dogs. It would be perfect if you were able to handle a group of dogs.
    We are a Lesbian couple, 49 and 50 years old, Ilona & Linda, and we are looking for women to stay with us.
    We have five dogs on our own.

    A typical week for a helper in summer time looks like this:
    Monday Morning starts at 7 o´clock. You open the doors for the dogs so they can go outside. Maybe they have made some mess which needs to be cleaned right away.
    Then you have breakfast, we have a small kitchen for you next to your room with everything you need for breakfast. Since we ourselves don´t have breakfast it is easier for the helpers to have it on their own.
    Work starts at 8. You should be downstairs outside on the big yard at 8 o´clock. New dogs come, some dogs are picked up. We need help with that, taking care that the new dogs get along with those that are already here.
    The night before we plan, which dogs will pe picked up the next morning, so you can bring their stuff downstairs.

    Some new dogs cry a lot, they need attention. The people bring their beds and food that has to be carried upstairs.

    Then the big yard needs to be cleaned (we have a tool to pick up the poo, its not so bad).

    Then the rooms where the dogs sleep need to be cleaned, using a vacuum cleaner (hoover) and a mop to wipe the floor, clean the bowls and so on.

    After that there is work in the garden: weeding, cutting grass, repairing things and so on.

    You should stop your work at 12 o´clock, no matter if you are finished, you can always finish it the next day. But at 12 all the dogs must be brought inside, fed and put to bed :O) We show you how to do it a couple of days, then you should do it on your own.

    Then we eat lunch. Ilona or me cook every day at lunch. If you like to cook we are pleased! We have had helpers that always cooked for lunch and we fed the dogs.
    From 1 to 4 we have a break. The dogs sleep, we rest too and we want it to be quiet in the house. You are free to go out or do what you like.

    In the afternoon Ilona and me work around the house and garden. You have free time, but if you want, you can help us.

    Around 7 we eat dinner, usually bread and cheese and salad. Then we feed our own dogs and afterwards the guest dogs. They stay inside for the night then.
    We would like you to feed the guest dogs on your own.

    Sometimes a dog is homesick and needs special attention at night. It would be great if you could take that dog in your room at night (not in your bed, just next to it).
    From Monday to Friday it is the same. Only on Tuesday and Thursday between 6 and 7 pm we have a playgroup. That means, we have to prepare our little café and then between 10 and 30 dogs and people come to let the dogs play for one hour. We serve coffee and cake and take care that the dogs don´t fight. You are welcome to join us.
    On Saturday morning after breakfast a busy day starts: guest dogs come and go, their stuff needs to be taken inside or outside, the yard needs to be cleaned, the kennel too. At 10 classes start, guest dogs must be stopped from barking so they don´t disturb the classes. Classes are at 10:30, at 12:00 for puppies, at 13:30 we have two classes, then 15:00 and last at 16:30.
    In between lunch must be cooked for all the helpers and us, the dogs must be fed and many others things are to do. Very busy, many people, many dogs.....
    Around 8 pm the dogs go inside eat, sleep.
    On Sunday morning you let the dogs out around 8 but then there is no work to do. They can play on their own. Please take care that they don´t bark. We have neighbors, they want it quiet on Sundays. There is no work to du, just take care of the dogs, play, keep company.
    Ilona and me try to rest on Sundays, sleep a little bit longer, relax. So Sunday is a day to rest for all of us. It depends on the dogs we have, some are fine with a quiet day, but others cry for attention and then we are always happy if we have a helper that pays attention.
    Around 10 am we are serving a big breakfast and if the weather is nice we can eat all together outside in the sun.
    Your job is to feed the dogs around 1 pm and again around 8 pm for the night.
    What we expect from you:
    Please be friendly and open minded. Nothing is worse than a helper that does not talk.
    Please be interested in dogs. You don´t need to know very much about them, you don´t need to handle aggressive dogs or stop a fight. But please see their needs, if they need attention or want to be left alone, if they need water or hugs, stop them from digging holes and please stop them from barking. If you don´t know how, ask us.
    Be gentle with them, not afraid of getting dirty when they jump at you. We have only nice and friendly dogs, but wild.
    Please have some understanding of working with your hands, using a mower, know how to paint a wall, how to use a hoover, a spade …. We don´t expect professional work!
    Please respect Ilonas and my privacy. We need it in the morning before 8, during the break from 2 to 4 and after dinner at night. In between you can always talk to us, we eat together and are always willing to help or explain.
    Many doors in the house are locked, because we have a wolf dog that can open doors. So please, through every door you find locked you can go, but you have to lock it again! Our wolf dogs would kill the cats, run on the street and get killed by a car, go to the guest dogs and start a fight. So this is the most important rule!!!
    What you can expect:
    Your own room, a bathroom which you only share with another helper, if we have 2. We buy all you want for breakfast, we cook lunch, we have a nice dinner, coffee in between if you want.
    Wifi, a bus stop at the house (10 minutes to Halle Westfalen, there you can take a train to Bielefeld or Osnabrück), a bicycle.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Otra

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for a young woman that likes to work with dogs. It is important that you have experience in handling dogs, you must be able to watch over them for short times when we are out, that means to take care, that they don´t dig holes, don´t fight, don´t do anything wrong :O)
    On the other hand we need help in gardening and housework, sometimes there is hard work to be done.
    We are living outside of the small town Halle (Westfalen), ZIPCode 33790 (be aware there is another town called Halle!) You can go downtown Halle, Bielefeld or Gütersloh by bus and train. There is a bus stop at our house.
    On our daily life we have many customers every day and we offer small events like walks through the woods, barbecues, breakfast or brunch and so on. You are always welcome to take part.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English, German

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a spare room with an own bathroom

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    7am - 1pm






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 000000000304