Peter

From: Hungary

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/05/2020 - 01/09/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

Watch my profile video


  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My YouTube channel: youtube.com/channel/UCWkim5A4W2Hrw2yIFexocwQ

    Generally speaking, I'm an easy-goin' guy. I'm not picky about food or accommodation. However I preciate vegetarian/vegan diet nowadays. I try to find happiness in small things like good weather, friendship, being healthy or having something to eat. (What else do we really need? Well, maybe water and a margarita machine...)

    I'm into essentialism, natural, healthy and sustainable lifestyles and cardio (HIIT). I also like building stuff and helping others.

    I lived 28 years in Hungary, then 2 years in Malta, then 2 years in Spain.

    I've lived with many other people; so far the record has been 8 people in the same flat.

    After being an office sheep and working for 6 years as a software engineer, I finally broke loose and now I'm on my alternative and hopefully somewhat spiritual journey.

    I'm looking forward to connecting with other individuals, working outdoors, creating things together, practising Spanish and learning more about the ethereal parts of life (meditation, Zen ...).

    Whatsapp: +34 610 63 09 02

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Teaching

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I'm not a genius but a hard-worker. I have some modest talent and I learn quickly.

    = Skills in general =

    - not afraid to get my hands dirty
    - power tools
    - basic electronics
    - IT and computers
    - ability to make almost any food disappear in the blink of an eye 🐿
    - painting (not the artistic way)
    - reviewing and fine-tuning text in English (I like clever wording) 🖋
    - animal care: I can run surprisingly fast in the opposite direction in case they disapprove of my presence. Just kidding; I'm fond of animals. 🦖

    = Workaway experience =

    +++ Animal shelter in Tenerife +++
    6 weeks
    Digging a hole with jackhammers, building clay and bottle wall, disassembling pallets, collecting food with a car and other physical work.

    +++ Finca in Toledo +++
    2 weeks
    Pruning trees, cleaning, removing weed, moving trees and helping the host with other stuff.

    = Experience in general =

    In my first 18 years while living with my parents, I was entertained by helping them with various things like: preparing the ground before planting veggies/trees, digging holes, building fences, painting, attaching TV antennas to the chimney, etc.

    During my university studies, I spent 2 years renovating our rather old family flat. With my father, we redid the electrical part. I also hired some professionals but I did a lot of the work myself such as painting, fixing the surfaces of walls, doors, fixing the wooden floor and door steps...

    I helped and organised language exchange meetups in Budapest.

    I also like cooking; we did it a lot during the university years with great satisfaction. And on the bright side of the recent events of the coronavirus, I was rewarded with some quality time to practise it. I'm happy to cook you guys some Hungarian meals with or without meat, or anything else you have in mind.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hungarian: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    32

  • What else ...

    In my free time, I teach ponies to eat with a knife and fork. Unfortunately, my attempts so far have had very limited success.

    Oh, and I almost forgot, I dance Cuban salsa, bachata and a bit of merengue (suavemente besame ta ta ta...)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I don't want to support the meat industry.

Photos

May-2020, tree pruning exam in Toledo, Spain (1st workaway exp)
Sometimes I find it hard to hide my fondness toward animals.
Animal shelter Tenerife, Spain (2nd workaway exp)
May-2020, Tree nursery in Toledo, Spain (1st workaway exp)
No chairs? No problem. Less comfort more life.
I will wash your car if you guess right what news can inspire such a stunned expression on our faces.
Diet? Never heard of her.
Nomadic life in the mountains in Georgia
Surf camp in Portugal
Tire changing tutorial in Cuba. The doggie had a low opinion about our apparent lack of professionalism. But you have to use what you've got to work with.
Installing the antenna and fixing the leaking gap between the roof and the chimney. My dad told me that I was too chicken for the job, well, challenge accepted!
Only if I could have gotten her moving anywhere...
Let out steam by dancing bachata in Malta
Teamwork to cross an icy cold river in the Georgian mountains

Feedback