Sydney

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India, Indonesia, Sri Lanka

  • ...

    Travel dates

    04/10/2019 - 20/04/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello, my name is Sydney! I have been traveling and working the last 3 years. I feel so fortunate to have seen and experienced everything I have and would love to continue immersing myself in places in meaningful ways. I am passionate about hiking and have often sought out destinations for this reason. I love nature and everything that comes with it (camping, waterfalls, hikes, scuba diving, etc.), and the skills I don't have I am eager to learn. I am passionate about the environment. I love trivia tidbits and exchanging stories with people. Relationships and interactions with people make a place for me, and I am an open book to any question you wish to ask. I love plants and would love to learn more about herbalism. I enjoy journaling and drawing (though I cannot speak to my skill) in my spare time. I can usually be found with a smile on my face and love seeing one on yours.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Above all, I am a quick learner and a hard-worker. I will dedicate my time with passion and be happy to help and acquire new skills. I am a native English speaker and I lived in Spain for a year (after other shorter experiences with Spanish), and am a proficient Spanish Speaker. I have worked teaching English (online and in traditional schools) for the past 2 years. I have worked bartending in San Francisco, and in New Zealand. I worked as a landscape gardener in New Zealand, so I am familiar with the basic tools for this and can learn quickly for any new skills. I have also worked as an administrative assistant and a medical assistant in an urgent care. I assisted the practice by creating necessary safety and training documents, researched and provided best-practices with billing and insurance. Checked-in patients and provided customer service. Along with my hospital work as a scribe, I have assisted physicians with triage, and give injections and medications as ordered.
 I am comfortable around such things that generally make people squeamish. I studied biology in university. I have basic sewing skills by hand and on a machine.

  • Languages spoken

    Native English Speaker, Proficient Spanish Speaker, I can understand basic Italian and Portuguese, I am trying to learn Hindi

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    I collect tongue twisters in different languages, so teach me one in yours! I enjoy playing cards, Settlers of Catan, and solving a good riddle. I am happy to sit around and talk, as well as be alone and read and write. I recently learned the basics of poi and would love to continue learning!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback