Sophia

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2018 - 01/12/2018


  • Description

    Hi! My name is Sophia.
    I am from Narragansett, Rhode Island, and currently live on a small island off the coast of my hometown called Block Island. Growing up in a small beach town taught me to value and respect nature. I am always outside whether I'm in the garden, spending time with my chickens, taking long walks on nature trails, and anything in between. I love animals and make the personal choice not to eat them, although I do eat fish every once in a while.
    I went to school in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania at Moore College of Art and Design and studied fashion design. I focused specifically on knitwear and minored in textiles and business. After I graduated in 2016, I moved to Block Island where I currently work in a fiber mill making luxury yarns and designing knitwear. Working here has taught me extensively about natural animal fibers (and some plant fibers too). The mill is located on a small farm where we have alpacas, camels, sheep, a yak, a bunch of exotic birds, and many other animals too!
    Up until now, I have been too busy to get the chance to travel. I am very excited to go somewhere new and learn about new cultures, eat new foods, and meet new people!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Sewing, Knitting, and other fiber related skills. Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator. Organic Gardening, some cooking.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    American

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Dogs, Mold

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian (fish is an exception)

Photos

Feedback