From: Czech Republic

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to


  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/05/2019 - 01/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi, my name's Marketa, I'm a freelance English teacher and tour guide (cycling&hiking). I love learning languages (I'm focusing on French right now), practicing yoga, rock climbing, reading tons of books, writing, arts&crafts...
    Over the years I slowly strained from a 9-to-5 job to being a freelancer and organizing my own schedule. And although I traveled a lot, especially during the past few years, I still felt something missing...
    I've always had a dream to travel the world long-term, work and learn languages and do something that matters. And Workaway is the best option to do exactly that!
    Because traveling for me is like a happy drug - the more I do it, the more I'm hungry for another trip. And let's face it, it's not only perfect for broadening one's horizons but also a great way to learn to appreciate one's own home.

    Things I especially enjoy:

    - coffee, lots
    - coming from Pilsen, CZ, the home of all lager beer, I would be crazy not to like it :). Also good wine, dry
    - chilling in a hammock
    - creating, decorating, trying new techniques and constantly collecting new ideas for creative DIY projects
    - singing and dancing though I'm not particularly good at either. I'm learning how to play ukulele right now.
    - writing - short stories, book ideas, blog posts, to do lists, bucket lists, funny words, linguistic jokes....
    - building and fixing things

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I'd say I'm very handy - I can fix a leaking faucet, chop firewood, or change oil in my motorbike. I'm an experienced driver (car+motorbike), and I can tie knots :). Or do something I've never done before, just show me how.
    I have some experience with demolition and building (painting, building fences, drywall installation) and can of course use all the common and electric tools (saw, drill, etc.).
    I can also set up my own blog, manage my website, prepare a presentation, give a speech, organize a tour holiday, create DIY decorations or run a class. And I make great coffee, too :).

    My so far colourful work experience:

    -tour guide (Scotland, Corsica, Italy, France, UK) - cycling and hiking tours
    -English teacher in a private language school in CZ
    -barista at wine+coffee bar in CZ
    -volunteer at pop-up airport at AfrikaBurn 2018
    -organizer and instructor of my own arts&crafts workshops (polymer clay, fabric printing, flower arrangement...) in CZ
    -travel manager (individual, group, corporate, and tailor-made tours) in Prague, CZ
    -cycling instructor in Mallorca
    -camp cook (for 50 clients) in Corsica
    -waitress and motel housekeeper in the USA (Work&Travel Program)
    -barmaid in cocktail bar in Germany
    -strawberry picker in Ireland
    -au-pair in the UK
    -children tourist club leader in CZ
    I have a great sense of responsibility, I'm quick to learn and willing to do my best.

  • Languages spoken

    Czech, English, German, French (beginner/conversational), Spanish (beginner), Italian (beginner)

  • Age


  • Nationality

    Czech Republic

  • What else ...

    I want to spend 2019 traveling all over the world and while being usefuI to other people or a cause I want to do and learn things I only dreamed about until now. It's time to hit the bucket list!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      cats (light), bee sting

    • Special dietary requirements
      I prefer fresh produce, cooking and clean eating. I try to minimize gluten and carbs.