Jesse

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Japan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/03/2018 - 05/04/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    167

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Until April, I was traveling through Japan, and I was going to work in the Australian Outback next. The pandemic cut my travel plans short, and now I'm back in Colorado, US. Using workaway to travel and explore domestically seems like the best next step to pursue my immediate and long term goals: traveling, meeting people, helping those brave enough to act on their convictions, writing about the above; learning about sustainability, permaculture, etc., and eventually starting my own homestead project.

    I tend to spend my free time reading, hiking, running, training calisthenics, or enjoying good conversation.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I'm comfortable with manual labor; I spent a summer landscaping, and I've experienced many kinds of outdoor tasks. I can speak very humble amounts of Japanese, Spanish, and French. I'm also an excellent writer and editor (in English only, I'm afraid), and I'd love to help you with any writing tasks you might have.

    I've traveled to three workaways (all in Argentina, so far), and they were amazing experiences. Here's a bit about what I've done for others: I helped a couple work on their eco-project (collecting firewood, harvesting berries and wheat from their farm, constructing outer walls on their new adobe-style house); stayed at an organic vineyard, off-season for grape harvest, where I harvested walnuts and learned about many other facets of farm life; and helped a family of five with their living, breathing country home.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    American

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Recent trip to Japan
Hidden primitive hot springs in Japan
Hiking in Colorado
Helping with an eco-project in Patagonia
End of the journey that introduced me to workaway, in Buenos Aires

Feedback