Nina

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Norway

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/09/2016 - 28/02/2022

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    815

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hei!
    I have been living in norway for the past 3,5 years (mostly on farms). I am a permanent resident in Norway and have been living pretty isolated with a few people in the past weeks in March (low risk of virus infection).


    I am a cultural project leader by trade but have been working with food for the last 10 years as a cook, cake baker, barista or restaurant manager. What I am passionate about? Nourishing food, healthy soil, vivid communities :)

    I think I am equally introvert and extrovert: I love living and working with others but I cherish my space and can stay alone for days, weeks, months (it has happened before!) without problem, I enjoy my own company.

    I enjoy physical work but I can also stay still and peel vegetables or sort grains for hours, I like this kind of "meditative" work.

    The last 6 months, I have been the cook for a team of 20 people in a big biodynamic farm. I can also cook for 30+ parties. I am a big fan of vegetables I must say, but I can't live off butter and cheese! (I am from Normandie in France, that's probably why). I can also bake sourdough bread, make yogurt or preserves.

    The last 2 years, 2 months during the spring I have worked in Traena harvesting and processing seaweed (for human consumption), it was a great challenge to organise logistics on a remote place and work in any kind of weather.
    I practice yoga on my own but very much as an amateur, love going for hikes or horse rides, and I am a massive fan of backgammon or any other board game (except chess, I never get it!).

    I work part-time as a translator and I am currently translating a book from english to french and that requires some hours of work with computer + wifi, but I am very fexible regarding the working hours.
    I am more of an A person, wake up early and goes to bed early.

    I have volunteered on farms in the past, I am just not very confident with big tools or machinery but not afraid to learn.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Gardening (pruning, harvesting, weeding...)

    Cooking, baking, making preserves, bread or yogurt.

    Painting

    Childcare

    A little experience with milking cows (machine) and goats (by hand).

    Photography, basic website development

    Latin dances

    Seaweed harvesting

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Norwegian: Beginner

  • Age

    33

  • Nationality

    French

  • What else ...

    I laugh and sing a lot, but if you're tired of it just let me know ;)
    Ah, and I like dogs.

    I am also one of the admins for Reko-ring Hamar

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Indoor cats can make me sneeze sometimes.

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback