Nathalie

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/05/2018 - 01/05/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    191

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi. I am Nathalie. I am originally from Germany and left my office job a few years ago to travel Canada and Europe. I settled in North Wales, UK for 2 years with my partner Melanie. But there is so much more to see on this beautiful planet - so we have decided to pack our bags again and take off.
    During my time away I have learned many new skills and experienced different alternative types of living. I worked on several farms (workaway / Wwoofing) and my work included mostly animal care (horses, sheep, goats, pigs, rabbits, chickens, dogs...) and general maintainance around the farm (small DIY jobs, building fences, gates and sheds, painting, chopping wood, fruit picking, weeding, gardening, cleaning, cooking). I have also taken part in a project group constructing an off the grid whale watching conservation site which included building with almost 100% natural materials and cooperating with the local native community.
    I really enjoyed this type of work and can't wait to learn and see more. I love being outside, living and working with nature. I am especially interested in organic lifestyles / self sustainability / eco projects / animal rescue and conservation projects. I like to cook and eat good healthy food.
    I enjoy physical work and while I have been in Canada and Wales I discovered my love for the outdoors. Living in a quiet, rural and remote area is no problem for me. I love the arts, music and culture but I don't miss the hectic and stress of the city life I was born into. I got into hiking and Yoga a few years ago and just simply enjoy being active.
    Our time in Southeast Asia (Thailand, Malaysia, Borneo & Indonesia) has provided us with some eye and mind opening experiences and has also changed our way to travel. Environmental protection and animal welfare has become a huge focus.
    It is important to me to feel as a part of the family or community I am staying and working with. I understand travelling as educating and mind opening.

    Update - We have just left Australia and are on our way to New Zealand :) :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Animal care, basic building skills, farming, gardening, tree planting, fruit picking, several DIY jobs, chopping wood, house cleaning, cooking, driving, computer skills. I like to try new jobs and I am not afraid to jump into something new that I haven't done before.

  • Languages spoken

    German, English

  • Age

    31

  • Nationality

    German

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Profile is connected to:

melanie1983


Photos

Feedback

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more