Mark

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Colombia, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2016 - 20/12/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    G'day!
    My name is Mark, I'm a Dutchy (Netherlands) and I'm 29 years old. More than two years ago I started travelling in Asia and Australia. This made me fell in love with the world, the different cultures and the beautiful people on this planet. Going to new places and be there for a couple of months became my new addiction. I'm lovin' it!
    The last two years I spend most of my time working in Australia. The jobs I had were working on a farm in Mareeba (two seasons), working as painter and bartender in a outback hotel (Gregory Downs), working as bartender and waiter in a 4*️️️️️ resort in Weipa (QLD) and did the same in a 4*️️️️️ star resort in Denham (WA). In between I spend two months in a Muay Thai camp at Koh Phangan (Thailand). Basically I was here for training but I also helped with building up for fight events and taking care of promotion. Every place I left with amazing memories in my mind and friends for lifetime.

    For me travelling is more than seeing the tourist highlights of the country. The thing I love about traveling is to build up a friendship, get to know the local community and traditions and get to know how other people live. I'd like to be surrounded by happy and positive people with a lust for life. This gives me energy and keeps me going to discover this beautiful world. I'd love to be with people who think and live different that I'm used to - I want to learn and improve myself every day. And at the end of the day nothing makes me happier than see a smile on the face of people. This beautiful life is to short to waist time and energy with things and people that make you unhappy.
    On WorkAway I'm looking for a place to stay for at least around a month. I'm flexible - If we're both happy I'm keen to stay longer. Theres no typical kind of project I'm looking for. After working at 5 places in Australia I can say that with my attitude I'm able to do most kind of jobs. My level for customer service is very good, even as my reliability, professionality and motivation. When there's no one to tell me what to do I'll find myself somehing to do. I'd like to be a part in a project and improve things. Besides working on my own I work very good in a team as well. With good communication I'm 100% sure we'll work it out.

    We don't wanna waist each others time and energy - so in what way can I make your project better? As I mentioned before I can help with lots of things. I worked for five years in a financial business so I can help you with administration tasks and computers. Besides that I had a couple of constructions jobs. I was never the lead man but I can be the right hand. I'm fit, strong and tall so heavy work isn't a problem for me. During my time in Australia I spent lots of time working in hospitality. Trying to give people a great time and see them leaving with a smile gives me a lot of energy to do this kind of job. So I can help you with serving beers and food, reception and cleaning. I've been working in a resort as the second hand of the chef and I was responsible for making the (basic) breakfasts as well. So helping with preparing food and cooking is an option too. Working on a farm was a great experience and I really liked it - I would love to do it again somewehere outside Australia. Who knows we can help each other with that.

    I love a basic lifestyle with watching the stars, a campfire, wild life and the views and sounds of the nature. Seeing sunset and sunrise makes me happy every time again. I'm a simple and easy going man and I enjoy heaps of priceless things the world has to offer. I Consider myself very lucky that I'm able to travel the world and get to learn new cultures and traditions. Hopefully one day you show me yours! No matter where I am I always want to be a good person, live my life by The Golden Rule and show respect to everyone.

    Thanks for reading and have a wonderful day,

    Mark Meems

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    - Hospitality
    - Administration
    - Farming
    - Construction (and bamboo construction since volunteering on a finca)
    - Gardening
    - Painting
    -Accounting
    -Bartending

  • Languages spoken

    English, Dutch, German

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    I enjoy travelling, listening music, reading, doing sports, animals and especially dogs, positive minded people, a laugh and so on.

    I'm always in for a new adventure and I'd love to start soon a new one. If you reckon we can help each other please send me a message. Please send me a message or email if you have any questions or if you want more information about me! I can send my resume including references if you're interested. Thanks for reading and hopefully we meet soon! :D

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

On a small fishing boat in Cat Ba (Vietnam)
Finished the day working on a avocado farm in Australia with some great mates. They're from Australia, Fiji, Italy, England and Germany. It's me in the black shirt
With happy Gooby
Pebbles needed a shave at the outback hotel in Gregory Downs (Australia) Her proud face when I finished shaving was priceless. She felt like a queen
At a Muay Thai camp in Thailand. The man on the right was my trainer- a former two times world champion and a great person
My lovely sister came to Australia last year to visit me. We had a great old time together!
Working in a resort in Weipa (Australia)
Enjoying the sunset in Denham while having a rare night off
While we were driving to the most western point of Australia we saw this little creature being lost on the road. We brought it back to the bushes where it will be saver.
Having a good night with two lovely locals, Rex and Faye, in Gregrory Downs (Australia)

Feedback