Leonie

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    22/10/2018 - 14/12/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1137

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I'm Leonie! I'm 23 years old and will be travelling and working in France throughout the autumn and winter of 2018. I speak French and am hoping to improve my language skills further, and I'm really excited about offering a helping hand and getting stuck into something new.

    I'm originally from the Peak District in northern England and grew up in the countryside there. I love history, making and seeing art, hiking and walking, and I'm almost always open to new things and new ideas. I'm an only child, which has given me a lot of independence, although I'm lucky to be incredibly close to both of my parents and my extended family. My father is a musician and I've been surrounded by music my whole life. I play guitar and have been in several choirs while at university, and was a bass guitar player in a band before moving away from home. I love going to see live music, and I love performing too when the mood is right!

    I just graduated from a Master's degree in History at the University of Sheffield, and I graduated in History from Durham University two years earlier. After graduating I worked two jobs to save money and then moved to New Zealand for six months, completely alone! I did a couple of WorkAway exchanges while I was there, and I loved them deeply. I can't wait to undertake another and have yet more fantastic experiences!

    I'm almost always positive and smiley, am known for being friendly, and I love spending time with friends new and old. My love for history is a massive part part of my life. I hope to go into museum work and academia in future and will be applying for a PhD to start September 2019. Academic life is something that I don't think works in isolation, and the value in it for me has lain in the fact that it has taught me - and continues to teach me - so much about the world. I love meeting people and challenging myself and no matter what I end up doing in life, I plan to never stop learning!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I cook vegetarian meals regularly for my large family, and am confident and quite skilled in the kitchen - it's one of my favourite places to be! I volunteer with a charity called FoodCycle, who cook vegetarian meals for the homeless using surplus food given by restaurants. I'm really happy working in a team, and coming up with plans and bringing them to fruition.
    I speak French and have spent a lot of time in France, including volunteering in a French primary school for a short period of time. This was part of an exchange programme I undertook when I was 16 and 17, and has contributed to me being comfortable travelling independently and challenging my own comfort zone. The experience in the primary school also equipped me with a lot of confidence working with children, which is something I really enjoy doing. Since this experience I have worked on heritage sites in England for two summers, arranging activities and events for families and children, teaching them about the history of the site in a very hands-on and fun way and coming up with ways of keeping people of all ages interested. I am very approachable and keen to make everyone feel happy and comfortable!
    I am also trained in boxing, and have a brown belt in a karate form called Shinji-Ru. I gained this grade when I was 13 and regularly taught the younger children in the group, in classes on the side. As mentioned in my 'about me' section, I can play guitar, and I am also able to read music. I have worked at a restaurant near my hometown since I was 14, first as a potwasher and chef, then later as a waitress. My earlier role entailed a lot of 'handy' jobs, such as collecting firewood and thoroughly cleaning the entire kitchen at the end of each shift, as well as preparing starters and desserts and having to maintain strict food hygiene standards, while I loved the latter for the fact that waitressing allowed me to engage with customers and kept me constantly on the move. I also work on a bar at university, and am comfortable in roles of responsibility. This is something I have had to balance with studying throughout my degree, and I have had to become well versed with time management and balancing a variety of tasks at once. In the past six months I have been balancing full time hours between an incredibly popular specialist coffee shop and a very formal restaurant - one which is aiming for a Michelin star.
    I have previously undertaken three placements with WorkAway. I worked as an au-pair and live-in teacher in Vienna in September and October 2016, I lived with a couple in Auckland (New Zealand) for one month and helped them with their food charity, and I lived with an elderly couple on New Zealand's South Island and helped them around their home and garden. I can't wait to do more!

  • Languages spoken

    English, French, some German and Dutch

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback