Katie & Daniel

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bulgaria, Croatia, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/01/2021 - 03/01/2022

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    We are a couple who love to travel, meet new people and learn about different cultures and ways of living! We hope one day to open our own eco-friendly hostel which would serve as a holistic/arts retreat and are hoping to gain experience in building hostels while making friends for life and learning essential skills along the way.

    We are highly creative people; Dan works as a freelance graphic designer and mural artist and Katie is starting out in web design and development. Together we are embarking on a super exciting adventure in working together as a travelling design studio. We have a van which we are slowly converting into a camper, ready for us to live, work and travel the world out of!

    Katie is also studying towards a degree in the History of Art and can speak Spanish (Dan is learning!) and is learning French. Learning and sharing languages is something we both believe in hugely and something we hope can help shape our experiences. Katie also has experience as an Au Pair in Spain, working with young children between the ages of 7 and 11, teaching them English through fun activities such as baking, sports and games and days out.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Pets
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Artistic abilities - drawing and illustration, graphic design, web design, interior design, photography/videography. Language and teaching experience. Interested in nature and plants. Would love to learn about growing our own veg. Good at cooking hearty vegetarian meals. DIY & basic carpentry, sports and games. Very hands on - love to get stuck in. Hospitality management - hard workers!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Both TEFL qualified. Katie has experience teaching English as a second language to young children.

  • Age

    28 & 26

  • What else ...

    We're both adventurous spirits and in our spare time we love to go hiking and exploring. We enjoy immersing ourselves in hands-on projects and get creative through DIY, painting, drawing, sewing etc. We also really value down time spent with others, usually through cooking, eating and drinking, and afterwards playing card/board games.

    We are always looking for new skills to learn and to keep our minds active. We have previously travelled South America, where we learnt to fish in the Amazon, surf in Chile and make the best caiprinhas in Brazil!

    We have both worked across the hospitality and creative sectors, and have found that we generally fit in wherever we land. We like to be adaptable and believe we are very respectable people, and will do our best to ensure we understand the people and the environments in which we will be living :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Mostly vegetarian/vegan

Photos

Feedback