Katharina & Allan

From: Austria & New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/11/2020 - 20/11/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling


    We are currently in Puerto Vallarta, travelling on the west coast of Mexico and looking for workaway hosts in this region.

  • Description

    We are Katharina and Allan - welcome to our profile! 😊

    Hi, I am Katharina, 31, from Austria. Fluent in English, German and Dutch y en esto momento aprendo español. I love to be outoors, do yoga and sports, read books and meeting new people. Due to my passion of travelling I have volunteered in different places around the world, it is the perfect way to settle down for a while, connect with people and the place more deeply and learn new things. Before my trip to Mexico I was working for 4 years as a Marketing & Event Coordinator in Amsterdam, after getting my Degree in Marketing & Business.

    Hi, I am Allan, 32, from New Zealand speak English and I am learning Spanish. My hobbies are fitness, reading, music, health and being outdoors. I have also volunteered in multiple hostels around the world in Turkey, Hungary, Scotland and Mexico. Doing some reception duties but also gardening work, cleaning, painting whatever needs to be done. Before coming to Mexico I was living and working in Sales in Toronto for two years and have been travelling on and off since getting my Law Degree in New Zealand.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Blogging
    Cooking & food

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    We have both volunteered in different places around the world, some of the last have been in hostels in Puerto Escondido and Tulum, mostly checkin and checkout of guests, providing them with information of the area, reception, daily cleaning tasks and what ever else needed to be done. On workaway we have been helping several hosts over the last months with babysitting, airbnb rentals, setting up marketing strategies for tours, cooking team/family lunches, shores around their houses & gardens, maintance & repairs.

    Allan: Besides workaway, my job in Sales and working in several hostels around the world I have worked for landscaping companies and worked on building sites back home. I am solution orientated, for example if a task I have never done before has to be done I will look it op on a tutorial online and get it fixed. I have a degree in Law & Business.

    Katharina: In the past I have worked in tourism, marketing & events and besides workaway volunteered in hostels and NGO´s using my skills of hospitality, organisation, marketing, writting and cooking. I have a degree in Marketing & Business.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    We are both learning Spanish at the moment and would be happy to improve, especially in speaking. We would be happy to share our knowledge in helping others to learn English, German or Dutch.

  • Age

    32 & 33

  • What else ...

    We love to connect with new people, new places and cultures while preserving the environment around us. That's why we travel responsible and sustainable, trying to create as little waste and footprint as possible. We follow a plant based / vegan diet (Katharina more so than Allan ;)) and are non smokers. Sharing a meal, time or laughs means more to us than materialistic things. Volunteering in different places gives us the opportunity to settle down for a while during travelling, learning more from our surrounding and be able to give more back in return. That's why we usualy like to stay at least 1 month at our hosts. At the moment we are researching for an online business idea we have concerning stustainable travel products. Hopefully we can go live with it soon and share our passion with you along the way, while you can share yours with us :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Plant based / vegan diet

Photos

Feedback