Jon

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/05/2019 - 11/05/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi, I'm Jon.

    For months now I’ve been enjoying life in London big time – cafes, art galleries, bookshops, garden squares and busy streets.
    But now it’s time to see more of the country, especially the English countryside, so here I am on this site.

    Not as young as I used to be, but loads of experience there – life has taught me many lessons.
    Am a self-starter, am totally open to learning and work very efficiently unsupervised and just get things done.
    So, teamwork or solo, count me in . . .
    Give me something to do, I’ll go do it and show you when it’s finished.
    Always take real pride in whatever I do.

    In my travels I have seen chances to help and improve and stayed at places where I could make a difference.
    Most recently assembled a bed, repaired kitchen furniture, oiled hinges, repaired a gate latch, weeded gardens (a favourite), tidied yards, pruned plants.

    Skills acquired over time are in woodworking, good gardening practice, construction, renovating, painting, general repair work, plus am good with power tools where safety always comes first.
    Ready now to get my hands dirty and apply my knowledge where needed.

    Active participant in conservation, waste-avoidance, recycling, repurposing, composting and good land stewardship.
    I have a keen eye for design and construction, alternative ways of getting a result and enjoy making a difference by improving whatever needs it.
    I believe in doing the right thing by nature and people, contributing well and leaving a light footprint on the earth.

    As a person: respectful, considerate, clean, vegan, non-drinker, non-smoker, no drugs, no loud music, very cat-friendly.
    Intelligent, classical music, literature, movies, coffee, bookshops, theatre, concerts, opera, then more coffee.
    Private personality, widely read, appreciate design, architecture, great art, good people.
    Am uncomplicated, friendly, balanced, no baggage, appreciative of what's good in the world.
    English native, plus I speak French and German, with Spanish and Russian.
    Terrific at backgammon, cryptic crosswords . . .
    Interest in philanthropy, consciousness, world affairs and love to learn.
    Brilliant sense of humour, just brilliant . . .

    If you think I could be an asset to you and we might get on well, it would be great to hear from you.

    Cheers, Jon

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Woodworking, good gardening practice, lawn mowing and skilled pruning, construction, renovating, painting, general repair work; design, writing, editing, translating, tutoring

  • Languages spoken

    English, French, German, Spanish, Russian

  • Age

    66

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Probably just some tv programmes !

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

Feedback