John

From: Spain

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, South Korea, Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/06/2018 - 01/01/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    162

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi, my name is John Spain (Yes, like the country!) I'm a friendly, easygoing, quiet person of Spanish/Irish origin (Bilingual in Spanish and English as a result).
    I've lived in Madrid for the last 10 years or so, but since I work mostly freelance through the internet (Doing a mix of translation, web design and 3d animation work) I decided to move around a little while I'm still young(ish).
    My flatmates in Madrid moved on to their first fully owned house so it seemed like the right time to take a leap, being able to travel without attachments at home.
    After two years in France my French greatly improved: I have attended parties full of French people, given tours of a Château to multiple visitors and dealt with official documents and phone calls, taught classrooms full of teenagers and attended picnics in Paris.
    Lately I've started to alternate house sits with workaways, and through 2018 I've been lucky to do so almost continuously and this summer I took a leap and left Europe for the first time to visit Malaysia and now Australia.
    I'm a fairly dedicated runner - going for a 10km run in the countryside is my idea of fun, whether it's rainy or sunny, I'm not too bothered by extremes of temperature. I'm also a reasonable cook and I get along great with kids and animals (And most adults too!). I'm handy with computers but I can also get my hands dirty digging potatoes, carrying buckets of water or painting a wall, it's all the same to me. I've had practical experience with power tools such as chainsaws and belt sanders, kept myself successfully warm by splitting wood through the winter and battled blackberries to a standstill!
    I have a driver's license, I'm a cautious and conservative driver. I've have driven cars that were made available for me by over ten different hosts without issues (Both automatic and stick shift, on both sides of the road).
    I'm a voracious reader and I like to think, a good conversationalist with at least a passing knowledge of most topics, as well as a good listener.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyze a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly. Specialization is for insects.
    -Robert A. Heinlein
    These last years on workaway have vastly extended the range of skills I possess. I am fit, able and willing to learn new things and have enough experience and common sense to tackle most tasks.
    A selection of things I have done on workaway:
    Physical:
    -scraped rust and painted railings and walls and a pool deck.
    -weeded, including removing brambles by the root, cutting back vines and pulling out small to medium sized trees as well as driving a tractor mower.
    -picked fruit/veg and dug out potatoes.
    -mowed/strimmed lawns and cut hedges.
    -assisted in renovating a kitchen.
    -shoveled 60 tons of gravel onto the ground floor of a castle both manually and with a rented bobcat.
    -removed rotten flooring and installed new floor boards and some wiring, some work involving the attic crawlspaces in the castle.
    -mixed and placed cement to shore up a damaged wall.
    -mixed and spread cement along a long driveway.
    -cut firewood with chainsaw and splitter.
    -digging a trench in the forest to install a 800m water pipe, also smaller 2x6 and 2x4 trenches to install insulation.
    -construction using reclaimed materials to add windows and sliding doors to seal an open veranda.
    -replacing and shoring up roof tiles.
    Social:
    Interacted with guests in various languages, served breakfasts, provided tours and taught language classes.
    Computer/Internet:
    Helped restore a website, social media and Internet presence for a hospitality business. I have experience with Internet marketing and web design.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish (Native), French (fluent)

  • Age

    44

  • Nationality

    Irish

  • What else ...

    I am also interested in house sitting opportunities. Several of my work away stays have evolved naturally into caretaking/ looking after the properties I was staying at.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Home baked bread, one of my best results.
Home made pizza... just add everything.
Spanish omelette, these can be tricky to get right!
Nice view overlooking my home town. Can you believe it was late December?
Scouring the castle walls with high pressure water
Visiting Rocamadour, France, part of the pilgrim's route to Santiago
working on the roof of the château

Feedback