Alberto

From: Mexico

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Iceland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/01/2019 - 10/04/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Alberto (Beto), Mexican designer who comes from Mexico City, the chaotic, unpredictable but lovely big city. I really enjoy staying in huge cities and discover the wide range of choices offered. However, I am currently in Germany, in a smaaall city in the south, where I realized a bit about the benefits of living near nature, surrounded by hills and green areas... I really love to admire the landscape in a quiet place.

    I am the youngest within a family of four children. All my siblings (two sisters and one brother) are married and have children, so I am the uncle of seven lively youngsters... and the eighth one is about to be born. The older one is a funny and intelligent twenty-two years old girl who is like my little sister... the younger one is a smiling-and-noisy two years old baby boy.

    Some years ago I came to Germany to look after the children of my brother, so I used to cook for them, took them to the kindergarten and play with them. Sometimes, when my brother or sister-in-law was not in the house, I even did the diaper changes (which is a sadly remember for me, haha). Now I came back to Germany to help them to do a kind of familiar volunteering since I am helping out my brother and family with the interior finishes in the new house, like painting, plastering, cleaning, furniture assembling, as well as the moving process... although in my free time I like playing with the kids and going for a stroll and play football with them.

    I also want to take the opportunity to be in Europe to travel to the UK, mainly to put into practice and improve my English-speaking skills since I must provide a proof of English language proficiency to be accepted in the doctorate degree around may this year. So, maybe I will also study in a language school to be well prepared.

    I have been in the UK before, around five years ago I spent a time living in Manchester and traveling around. Maybe Bristol and Cornwall were my favorites places, maybe because of the people but also the culture and way of living I perceived they had.

    My hobbies are going for a stroll, running and biking. I have been involved in sports two years ago, so I have done some sports competitions like triathlon and some running races. I also like to read and stay relaxed in nature or taking pictures of the architecture and also of nature. I like art, I used to paint in oil or with watercolors and also I learned how to make engraving and took some filming courses.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am an interior DESIGNER, but I have been especially focused on DISABILITY, always from a design perspective. On my bachelor dissertation, I was focused on low vision people and their accessibility in the indoor public spaces. Throughout my master studies, I researched and carried out some experiments in the laboratory with the purpose of understanding their visual needs to include them in the current lighting regulations, especially looking for improving visual performance and visual comfort of this people. Here you can take a look some work I have done - https://bit.ly/2SqPwK0.

    This topic is closely related to aging, so I have been in contact with OLDER PEOPLE and for me, it is really enjoyable to listen to them and know the backgrounds and experiences.

    From the Uni, I learned to use some DESIGN PROGRAMS, like photoshop, illustrator, and others similar. Ones I worked for a magazine, where I learned to design and retouches some images; also, I carried out some redaction work, so, I am ok in those type of tasks.

    All the MAINTENANCE work, repairing, painting, gardening, etc. were the usual task in my parent's house ... all the time I used to say that I was bored, my father asked me to do these types of work in the house, so I can do this task properly, although sometimes I need to know some special technics.

    I can also TEACH, it might include some Spanish or even arts, like painting with different techniques. I have led the small and young children class in the church, so I know how to deal with them and some basic strategies for teaching.

    I also can COOK, of course, my specialty is Mexican food, but I am able to try another international dishes, as well as vegetarian food. One time, when I was traveling, some vegan friends hosted me, so the only food I ate was vegan... it really worked out... and I can also try some.

    The CHILDREN make me enjoy and be focused on the small pleasures of life. How I previously mentioned, I have looked after my nephews in Germany and it was I great experience. I think I discovered new skills, like telling stories, dancing without shyness and smiling easily for silly jokes.

    I am not really familiar with the farm tasks, however, I am really willing to learn to milk, sow, harvest and live organically. In fact, I think it is a necessary habit to adopt in our current society.

  • Languages spoken

    I can speak Spanish, English and basic German

  • Age

    32

  • Nationality

    Mexican

  • What else ...

    I consider myself a clean and organized person, a diligent, enthusiast, a sociable and physically strong worker who can work in a team and bring new ideas, but also with a big desire and willingness to learn.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback