Donna

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    04/05/2019 - 18/05/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I am an early-retired professional American with a strong background in English Studies (2 Bachelors Degrees - 1 in English Writing (Creative Writing and Journalism) and 1 in English Literature, for which I studied in London, England.) My post-retirement career has been working for a non-profit program that provides free tutoring of English to adult non-English language speakers. I first became a volunteer tutor and was then offered a part-time job for the organization. I now conduct student intakes for interested adults from around the world, teach tutor trainees how to tutor English and then match them with students, 1-on-1. My goal is to teach English in Italy (first as a volunteer experience) and to learn some Italian, if possible, while I'm there.

  • Type of help

    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Strong English language teaching skills, to include reading, writing, speaking, listening. I am also TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) certified as of April, 2018. I graduated with 'Distinction' and participated in the highest level course offered by TEFL - Level 5, 168 hours.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    64

  • Nationality

    American (of Italian extraction)

  • What else ...

    I have been to Italy several times (throughout the country), as that is where all my grandparents were from. I've loved that land as if it were my own since age 15. (I think it's precisely because I was first there at 15 years old for 6 weeks that it made such a powerful impression on me!) I've always wanted to visit beyond being a tourist and/or seeing family (in the past), as I have many English skills to offer and would like to experience living there as part of the Italian culture (and also learn Italian). I'm an educated and academic professional who can offer much to anyone who'd like to learn the English language. I've also taken an Italian literature course in Florence (in the late 1990's) on Dante Alighieri. I do have a cat that needs care while I'm gone, so I'd like to limit my visit to 2 weeks in May, 2019.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback