Dani & Patrick

From: Canada & United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Greece, India, Laos, Montenegro, Myanmar, Nepal ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2021 - 31/08/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    We are a couple that is motivated to see the world through an authentic lens and immerse ourselves in the culture of the beautiful countries which we are fortunate enough to travel to! We are planning a once-in-a-lifetime trip where our goal is to travel from London, UK to Ho Chi Min City in Vietnam without getting on an airplane! We hope that this will provide us with a stripped down, grass roots travel experience. We love meeting new people, having unique experiences and learning new skills. We come from opposite ends of the world, Dani from sunny (yet sometimes cold) Calgary, Canada, and Patrick from rainy (yet sometimes warm) London, United Kingdom. We each bring our own unique set of perspectives to each task we set ourselves to, and are itching to learn more about what we have to offer. We hope this trip provides us clarity and joy that we can apply to our future lives as individuals and as a couple.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Dani -
    I am a Clinical Exercise Physiologist by training and have been teaching and facilitating rehab programmes for people ranging from children to the elderly throughout my career. I am very confident working with people of all ages, teaching, developing programs and am used to being on my feet all day! I am an extremely quick learner and don't shy away from physical activity. Growing up in the Rocky Mountains in Canada, being outdoors was a big part of our lives and getting down and dirty in snow, sand and mud were always some of my favourite times! I also spent many weekends helping my mother with her DIY projects at home, including tending to her garden, painting the house and spring cleaning. I am also savvy with technology where needed and ultimately willing and excited to try anything new!
    Patrick -
    I have worked in the finance industry for the last 8 years and am now looking for break from what is a very stressful job! I love being outdoors, getting dirty and sweaty! There is nothing I love more than working hard to see a tangible result. Over the last couple of years I renovated my home and garden and have picked up loads basic DIY skills. I also help my father at his allotment, growing and tending his fruit and vegetables. A big reason I am looking forward to embarking on this trip is to pick up new skills and experiences.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    26 & 30

  • What else ...

    We love a good (friendly!!) game of Monopoly, reading a good book, socialising with friends and hiking. We are also known for loving a road trip and setting up our tent for a few nights of camping. We also like to be creative with our cooking and like to try new foods and tastes from cultures around the world. If it were up to us, we'd have a big lovable dog that we could take on long walks and cuddle up on the couch with. Ultimately we are two people who geek out for new places and adventures and excited for what Workaway has in store for us!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback