Connie

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    Travelling

  • Description

    (español abajo)
    Hola! I'm Connie, and I'm 32 years old. I've been living in Yucatán for a year and want to explore other parts of Mexico and Latin America. I teach English online and am working hard to improve my Spanish - with every conversation it's a little better! That's why I'm eager to travel, meet and converse with new people, work hard during the days, and rest easy at night knowing I've made the most of my time :)
    I've had the good fortune to travel a lot (in Chile, Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Panamá, Marruecos, China, Israel, Nepal, and more), and I lived six months working in tourism in Alaska... but what's important to me now is, rather than simply collecting experiences, I want to know a place well, learn new skills, and develop a community with the people I meet and work with.
    For the last four years, I have taught English as a Second Language (ESL). Before that, I taught piano for more than a decade.
    Aside from traveling and studying Spanish, I also enjoy biking, acroyoga, hiking, climbing, trail running, scuba diving, and working in the outdoors.
    -
    Hola! Soy Connie. Tengo 32 años. Llevo un año viviendo en Yucatán y quiero conocer otras partes de México y Latinoamérica. Enseño inglés en línea y quiero mejorar mi español. Con cada conversación, es poco mejor! Por eso, quiero viajar, conocer y conversar con nueva gente, trabajar duro en los días para que pueda descansar al fin del día sintiendo que he usado mi tiempo en una manera productiva :)
    He viajado por muchas partes del mundo (como Chile, Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Panamá, Marruecos, China, Israel, Nepal) y viví por seis meses en Alaska trabajando en turismo... pero lo que me importa más ahora - en vez de solo coleccionar experiencias - es instalarme en un sitio por un buen rato para conocer el lugar bien, aprender abilidades nuevos, y desarollar una comunidad con las personas con quien vivo y trabajo.
    Por los últimos cuatro años, he estado enseñando inglés (ESL). Antes, era maestra de piano por más que diez años.
    Además de viajar y estudiar español, disfruto andar en bici, practicar acroyoga, caminar en las montañas, escalar, bucear, y trabajar en la naturaleza.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Music
    Photography
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Culture
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    4 years' experience teaching English as a foreign language (I have a TESOL certificate and currently teach online).

    10 years teaching music/piano.

    photography/photo editing.

    childcare, kids' camps and afterschool programs.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    34

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    I'm learning guitar and weaving, and I'm always eager to expand my cooking skills!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback