From: Lebanon

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Brazil, Costa Rica, Croatia, Ecuador, Estonia, Germany, New Zealand, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/03/2017 - 31/12/2022

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    My name is Bilal Naamani from Lebanon. I worked as a management consultant until 2016; mainly in Dubai, the Gulf and Beirut. I’ve been planning to leave my job and pursue a more balanced lifestyle, being self reliant in terms of shelter, energy and sustenance. I’ve embarked on this journey in 2016 when I went to Sri Lanka for 3 months; just practicing Yoga, meditating and spending quality time with myself. I was also doing research on the courses / skills I’d like to attain in order for me to make this shift from the corporate world to a more balanced lifestyle that is in sync with nature.
    After Sri Lanka, I flew to Nepal and did the Yoga Teacher training for a month. Studied yogic philosophy and met some amazing people there. After that I did some massage therapy courses, which I thought would enable me to do some traveling and pay for my expenses by giving yoga classes and massages. And then I came to HASERA for a permaculture course where I learned more than I expected to be honest. Wonderful times and definitely one of the best learning experiences I’ve ever been involved in. I am also taking a course in EarthBag building; which is a natural building technique.
    I have been traveling and volunteering on farms and sustainable project/communities since 2016; I've volunteered on permaculture projects, organic farms, community projects and a lot of other inspiring and holistic projects.
    I am eager to meet likeminded people and start a project together; a project based on equanimity, permaculture and self reliance and organically grow it into a small fully sustainable community where we host retreaters, volunteers, artists, permaculture enthusiasts, students, and all sorts of free spirited people.
    I truly believe that establishing a sustainable and regenerative world where we preserve our jungles, forests, fresh water supplies and biodiversity as well as adopt a more conscious, sensitive and healthy lifestyles is the way forward for Humanity to thrive rather than struggling and competing to barely survive.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    I'd say that this change I embarked upon provided me with the skill to see and live life in a different way, understand that we humans don't really need much to be happy and discover new realms of consciousness.

    I am just going to list some of the areas I have experience in for the benefit of my hosts;
    - Yoga teacher training (YTT200) from Nepal Yoga Academy
    - Massage therapy training from AIPA School where I learned Thai massage & deep tissue massage.
    - Reiki level 1; it's an ancient Japanese technique for holistic healing.
    - Permaculture Design Certificate (PDC) - a discipline based on sustainable living in harmony with nature.
    - Been volunteering since 2016; where I worked on organic farms, permaculture projects and community projects.
    - I’ve also volunteered on a building project in Turkey where we built a small house using concrete as a base and wood for the structure, walls, roof, etc.. so I have some building experience. I've also worked on multiple projects where we were building with mud and adobe.
    I consider myself a fast learner and a team player, so I'll be willing to assist with any task. I am very passionate about community and sustainable living; sharing resources, effort, stories, happiness and respect.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Arabic

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    Playing & watching sports (played basketball for a while before my knee injuries). So I can be a basketball trainer at a school or a village's youth team.
    Enthusiastic about ancient civilizations, natural healing techniques, shamanism and herbal medicine.
    Reading about understanding the self, consciousness and the fabric of human societies.
    I care about nature and promote eco friendly initiatives; been a vegetarian since 2010.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Do not eat meat (white, red and fish)