William

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2020 - 31/08/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    260

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi, I'm Will. I am American British and have lived in England for as long as I can remember. For the past three years I've been traveling around North America mostly living outdoors and develop skills in sustainable and self sufficient/off-grid living.
    As a teenager I helped out my parents around their organic plum orchard and have had jobs in construction and tree care as a laborer. I used to live in Cheltenham, a town in the Cotswolds, and worked for over four years in the insurance industry. I did not enjoy working in an office or the busy town life and now want to work outdoors once again. Since arriving in America I have worked through Workaway on farms and homesteads in Oregon, Washington and BC helping with various tasks including cleaning, forest clearance, fence repair, gardening and farming.
    I have also worked in a mountain lodge in Colorado for a season helping with general maintenance and housekeeping.
    Recently, I finished a term with AmeriCorps mostly doing trail and chainsaw work as part of a team.
    I enjoy hiking, running, cooking, writing, camping and swimming. I am keen to live and work in the rural outdoors. I am especially interested in learning skills and developing knowledge that I can use in my travels or as a step towards a career of outdoor living. I usually like to stay at a location for at least a month to experience and understand the individual dynamic of the place.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    At my parents orchard I helped with removing dead wood, pruning, mowing, clearance, picking, selling, weighing and grading plums.
    Whilst working in tree care I have had experience using handsaws, hedge-trimmers, chippers and leaf-blowers. I have worked around chainsaws and as a ground laborer.
    When I worked as a building laborer I used hammers, electric drills, bench saws, nail guns and a cement mixer and have had experience in roof tiling, painting and putting up drywall.
    Through Workaway I have done a lot of gardening and some landscaping work including weeding, trenching, tilling, sowing and harvesting (mostly beans, corn, berries and root vegetables). I have also worked with chickens, goats and pigs. Other tasks I have done are forest floor and bramble clearance, fence repair and furniture upholstery.
    With AmeriCorps I worked a lot with chainsaws, both felling and clearing. I have also spent time maintaining and constructing trail, removing invasive species, building burn piles and working prescribed burns.
    I enjoy new experiences and am hardworking and focused when given a task. I learn quickly and am eager to gain and develop new skills, especially in self-sufficiency and farming.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    British & American

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback