Raquel & Antonio

From: Portugal & Spain

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    29/05/2019 - 28/05/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    We are a Portuguese/Spanish couple who, until recently, worked as researchers at the university (Raquel in Virology and Antonio in Ecology). During the past 12 years we have lived (for studies and work) in several European countries (Spain, Italy, France and Sweden) and travelled for several years in different parts of the world. We are passionate about nature and science. We are open-minded and flexible people and we really enjoy experiencing different environments. We are both very environmentally aware and for many years we have been trying to reduce our impact by consuming local products, wearing almost exclusively 2nd hand clothes and making some of our own cleaning and cosmetic products.
    We have just started a several month long adventure, during which we wish to learn and explore inspiring ways of living. Our trip was inspired by our will to live closer to nature and to experience alternative lifestyles. In the near future we would like to find a beautiful place in the countryside to live a simpler, healthier and more environmentally-friendly life. Our plan is to visit and volunteer in different projects in Spain and Portugal (our home countries).

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    We both are very fond of working with our hands and we have a particular interest in developing skills in ecobuilding, ecological gardening and permaculture design. Antonio is strong and hard working and is very interested in natural building techniques and food forest. Raquel loves the orchard and would like to learn more about companion plants and medicinal herbs. She also enjoys making natural hygiene products, sewing, knitting and crocheting and would like to improve her skills.
    We recently participated in an agroforestry course and we are looking forward to apply what we learned and deepen our knowledge.
    We are happy to share our skills and motivation to support interesting projects!

  • Languages spoken

    Portuguese, Spanish, French, English and a little Swedish and Italian

  • Age

    36 & 36

  • Nationality

    Portuguese and Spanish

  • What else ...

    We had our first woofing experience in 2012 in the UK and, even though we have always lived in cities, we have had an orchard since then! We participated in an urban gardening project in Sweden (near the polar circle!!) and were part of a local producers/consumers association when we lived in France.

    We are experienced travellers: we hitchhiked and couchsurfed from north to south America and from West to East and South Asia, as well as in Europe. Our CS profile has more detailed information and references about us. https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/rrodrigues

    During our travels we volunteered in a social project which aimed to (re-)teach local indigenous farmers from the south of Mexico, to produce and eat healthy organic products based on permaculture principles. In this project we were mainly involved in bee-keeping but we also learned about general permaculture and wild local edible plants.
    We also had a lot of fun picking tea leaves in Turkey and coffee beans in Colombia.
    And we were so lucky as to have had the opportunity to teach English to adults in China and to teach "World Culture" to young adults in El Salvador.

    Other interests include science, history, hiking, travelling, DIY.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback