Lynn

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Greece, Italy, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/04/2019 - 04/06/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    483

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I am an enthusiastic, optimistic, energetic and flexible hard worker who enjoys people, the outdoors, art and history. I offer a wide variety of skills - computer, office and customer service, photography, as well as gardening and horticulture. I have experience painting and remodeling, and I know how to use a hammer and a shovel! I enjoy outdoor work and manual labor, but am also comfortable with cleaning house, making jam or pickles, cooking and doing dishes! I enjoy children and elderly family members. Other than being allergic to cats that live in the house, I love animals. I retired from full time work 6 years ago, and now work part time mostly in the fall; also I make and sell jewelry, am an artist (pastel pet and people portraits, wildlife etc), and I own a rental property which I am in the process of remodeling. I live with my partner Don on 400 acres in SE Oklahoma, in the Quachita Mountains. I am 65 years old, very active and in good health. I am a non smoker and prefer non-smoking hosts. I love to travel, seeing new places and making new friends. I'm looking for workaway experiences where I can make a positive contribution, and enjoy the local culture, history, art, outdoors, and of course local food and wine! :-). My first trip to Europe was in summer 2016 with my daughter; I fell in love with Europe and went back to Europe in 2017 and 2018 as a Workawayer.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Landscaping and gardening, painting, minor remodeling, computer, photography, customer service, house cleaning, tutoring, child and elderly care. I included pics of the house I am remodeling & painting, as well as a pic of the stone walkway and flower garden that I installed. I am a nature lover and have some knowledge of the outdoor world - birds, animals, geology and botany. I am involved in several outdoor and conservation groups here in Oklahoma. In my previous employment, I was a teacher, and later worked in sales and service.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Age

    66

  • Nationality

    United States

  • What else ...

    I am looking for a Workaway assignment(s) in late spring or early summer 2019, and am available for 1 - 4 weeks per host. The cost of airfare goes up substantially during the summer, which is why I would be traveling in the late spring or early summer. I won't have a car, so will need assignments where there is access to public transportation, or where the host is willing to provide transportation. I prefer locations in Portugal, Spain, France, Italy or Greece, but am open to other locations. I included pics of my little dog in the woods, irises from my flower garden, pics of my jewelry and watercolors, just to help you get to know me a little. I love to travel and meet people from other backgrounds and cultures. I'm interested in history, art, gardens & botany, archeology, geology and architecture. My first trip to Europe was in the summer of 2016 as a tourist. My first workaway experience was in April and May of 2017 and I loved experiencing life as part of the community rather than as a tourist. Most of the workawayers are younger than me, but I am a very young 65 :-). I hike and backpack, and am physically fit and able to do physically demanding work. I am semi-retired; I do consulting work for MetLife September- December, make and sell jewelry,?and do custom pastel artwork. During the other months, I do some traveling, enjoy friends and family, work on remodeling my rent house in Tulsa, Oklahoma and enjoy spending time in the pine woods in SE Oklahoma where I live.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Cats that live inside the house. Outdoor cats are fine. I am also sensitive to cigarette smoke, so am looking for an opportunity where the hosts are non-smokers.

    • Special dietary requirements
      None, except that I don't care for deep fried foods or greasy foods

Photos

Feedback