Nicola

From: Italy

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Brazil, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/12/2017 - 03/04/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1200

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi there :)
    my name is Nicola, I'm 21 and I come from Italy. I'm not sure how much I have to write about my self, but I'll try to be more accurate I can without being boring ;)
    I was born and raised in a small small village in the mountains (about 4000 inhabitants, in the heart of the Dolomites) where I got in contact with nature since I was I child. This is probably the first important word in my life:
    NATURE... I remember I used to go hiking kind of every day through my lovely mountains, walking in the forest and mountaineering. The place where I was born and raised is a beautiful hidden paradise and still now, when I get the chance to go back there for a while, I feel my heart healed. When I'm the nature I feel home, I don't need any money (well, as long as I have food :P), I don't need a television, a car, a pool, I just need people to talk with and to enjoy my time with :) I love ecologic communities and alterative ways of living...
    TRAVELS... Once I finished school I took some time off to dedicate to one of my biggest passions: travelling. I've been living in Stockholm for 6 months, working and trying to make a living on my own, then for 5 months in Barcelona and other 3-4 months travelling around Europe hitch-hiking or moving in cheap ways with some friends. In the summer 2017 I have travelled around Mexico, Guatemala and Belize for about two months and a half, doing many WorkAway's experiences. I love to discover new places, see new cultures, walk all the day under the sun and give all myself to find the best spot to watch the sunset from. I love the feeling of freedom when I filll my lungs of air, I love PEOPLE and I love life. Still I'm very grateful to be born in Italy, I love my country and its culture, which I try to carry always with me.
    MUSIC... Since I was a child, music has been my reason of life: I'm not saying that I would like to be famous or to be a star, but I cannot think about one day without listening to a song, without creating anything, without singing along a small verse... I've been playing the drums for 12 years, the guitar for 5 and sung for 3... I've played with many bands, some just for fun, some more serious, I got my own YouTube channel, in which I upload covers and also songs written by me...
    I like many many many genres and I know each time you say this seems like you don't know anything about music, but I really listen to everything :D from Deathmetal to old folk-rock, from Reggae music to HipHop, electronic music, punk...everything! Some of my favourite artists are: Bob Dylan, Beatles, Eminem, Bob Marley, Pantera, Korn, Fugazi, SOJA, Caparezza, Nirvana, Infected Mushrooms, Prodigy, David Bowie...well, you see how many things :P
    WRITING... Another big passion I have in my life is writing. I've started writing when I was 9 and I always kept going with it...I recently finished my last novel, which I'm trying to publish, and started to write for some radio spots, screen playing and other stuff...I've always dreamed to become a writer one day and who knows, life keeps hidden many many surprises. I love art in general, Theatre, Cinema.
    LANGUAGES... When I get to know a new culture I always get impressed by its language...language to me is the primary way we have to communicate, the best way to express ourselves and the ONLY way to be really understood by everybody... This is why I'm studying Languages and Literatures at the University of Milan and currently doing an Erasmus in Edinburgh (Scotland)...at the moment I can speak fluently in Italian, English, Spanish, Portuguese and Swedish, which is already a good goal to be just 21...but my dream would be to be able to speak many more languages :) I've got good teaching skills, in English, Spanish and Italian, which I currently teach in Edinburgh. I love to explain things to people, children or whoever...
    SPORT... I did a lot of sport in my past and I try to do it now too: I've played football for ten years, went to the swimming pool regularly and climbed the more I could, putting my little tent at the mountains' feet and waking up in the morning ready to touch the rock. Hiking and climbing are my reliefs.
    WORK... I've got a nice CV, I've been involved in many different occupations, working as a Bartender both in Sweden and Spain, in famous Pubs and Restaurants, and as a shoe-seller in Italy, always finding a way to try and save some money. Since 2012 I've worked almost every summer in a beautiful Ranch in the hills of Friuli, where I learned how to take care of animals, how to harvest, build small buildings and how to handle working tools. Working in the nature is another thing I love! :) at the moment I'm working as a language teacher with "Yakety Yak" in Edinburgh.

    This is who I am :) I'm an easy-going guy, who loves to discover things, learn the more he can and share his long journey with all the different kind of people all around the world...

    MY NEW PROJECT: I just came back from my big adventure last summer and just moved to the UK (Edinburgh). I'm trying to find some little place in the North of Scotland, to spend 2 weeks at the beginning of January. I'm looking for lovely places to spend sometime at, no matter what the job is. Hostels, farms, eco parks are the best options, but everything could fit really :) I'm interested in positive people and good vibes. Can't wait to share my help for any good cause!!
    Hope you guys are having a great time as I am... and see you soon! :)
    BYE BYE, HASTA LUEGO, ATÉ MAIS, CIAO, KRAM

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I can teach languages, help with every kind of hand work, work in a farm, a hostel, take care of children, share my knowledge

  • Languages spoken

    Italian, Ladin, English, Spanish, Swedish, Portuguese, French

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    Italian

  • What else ...

    Life is a never-ending discovery. I'm looking forward to see what's next! :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback