Nika

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2021 - 01/07/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Greetings!
    We are Corin and Nika, a creative and hardworking couple from wild and windy Dartmoor, UK.
    As such we occasionally have a look of wistful melancholy in our eyes, but still retain our senses of humour.

    We came to France in the autumn of 2020 seeking a drier climate and community living.
    We have been happily tucked away in the Dordogne ever since, but now that spring has sprung, it is time for us to continue our adventure.

    Our dream is to one day build a home of our own. This little sojourn of ours is a quest to gain knowledge on how to one day build our own completely eco friendly roundhouse, surrounded by a diverse and creative community. Ahhh doesn't that sound nice?
    But also we are deeply unhappy with how the current systems are set in place to trap people into an unhealthy way of living and wish to be part of a positive change (yes we're eco activists at heart).

    Corin is a mighty fine woodworker, general technical problem solver, creator of...things (absurd and practical alike) and gosh he's a hard worker!
    He also makes his own instruments out of anything... like kettles (don't worry yours is safe!) and would love to learn about making shoes.
    He's recently built a sauna, treehouse, pavilion and is learning how to build roundhouses.

    Nika has many qualifications in teaching outdoor skills (forest school, bush craft, navigation, natural building, tracking and outdoor activities) and is an avid hide tanner, which means she makes leather out of animal skins that would otherwise be thrown away.
    She adores gardening/growing/foraging food and cooking (is a certified chef), and practical, creative projects.
    She studied Ecology and Spirituality at Schumacher college and seeks to combine art, psychology and a deep understanding for the natural world to help people with mental health difficulties.

    We are both artists and would love to document our travels with lots of drawings inspired by the landscape, folktales and people we meet.

    We look forward to meeting you, learning new skills, sharing ours, working hard and having some fun!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Carpentry and woodwork, chainsaw (not certified), gardening, trained chef/butchery/foraging, forest school practitioner/outdoors instructor, art (painting, sculpture, wirework), hide tanning, electrical maintenance, Permaculture knowledge (certified), Childcare (DBS checked) and general maintenance.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    28

  • What else ...

    COVID-19: We have been living in a small and very protected community in the remote regions of the Dordogne for the winter. As such we have had no contact with anyone that may have been potentially affected and have been incredibly vigilant about our exposure to the virus.
    We have our own transport and make sure that we maintain hygiene standards/ mask wearing at all times when out.
    We want to keep everyone safe!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      None

    • Special dietary requirements
      Nika has an odd eating pattern of twice a day, breakfast at 9 and dinner at 4... it's a long story but she will cater for herself. Corin will happily eat anything that's put in front of him (except celery).

Photos

Feedback