Maria

From: Spain

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    All times

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi, my name is Maria and I am from Spain and l live in Barcelona.
    I am a student and I have just finished high school.
    I am a hard-working, active and motivated person. I am also environmentally aware.
    I enjoy working with people, taking part in group work, but I’m also happy to work alone. My favourite place to work is outdoors.
    In my free time I usually read and practise yoga on a regular basis, but what I like most is photography with my pinhole camera.
    I love nature, plants and animals. I’m used to spending some weeks during vacations with my grandparents at a rural house.
    I decided to join this voluntary service because I am looking forward to having new experiences.
    I am eager to participate in all the tasks, even in those that I have never done before because I’m a quick learner and I am persistent, conscientious and adaptable.
    I live on a little boat with my father so I have become very independent because my father works abroad in a NGO dealing with refugees.
    I can cook and do housework. I mostly eat vegetarian and ecological food. I try to avoid creating non organic waste.
    This year I did a research project at school about the effects of the war in Syria. My interest arose from my father’s work in Libya for “Open Arms”.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Social skills:
    I am an outgoing person and a good mixer. I have the ability to empathize with people and listen to them, although I enjoy tranquility and my own personal space too.
    I like to interact with people regardless of their ideas or beliefs.
    I like to listen and discover different points of view.
    I am very open minded and positive.
    I have patience and I have a good sense of humor.

    Physical skills:
    I know how to cook and I enjoy learning new recipes.
    I have experience in the caring for pets and plants.
    I like doing manual jobs.
    I have helped doing repairs and redecoration work by tiling floors and painting walls.
    Regarding to children, I have experience in babysitting and child care at a summer camp.
    As I travelled through Greece and Balearic Islands with my father, I have experience sailing in sailboats and rowing.
    In my spare time I do yoga, hiking and photography.
    I have experience in agriculture and gardening.

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent: Spanish, Catalan. Less than fluent: English

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    Spanish

  • What else ...

    As I am interested in art , I usually go to museums, circus and exhibitions.
    I love independent cinema and I go to the art house cinema once time a week.
    I am also interested in agriculture, that’s why I did a little experiment in my mum's house: I grew, lettuces , tomatoes, peppers, and aubergines. In some flower pot.
    September, October and November of last year I was in Ireland working in an ecological center and a campsite learning some agriculture and improving my English.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback