Kreetta

  • Finland
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (4)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Greece - from Apr 2022 until May 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hello! I am a free-spirited dentistry student on a gap year, motivated by life experience, compassion, peace and love! I value open communication, acceptance, mental health and gratitude. I'm highly empathetic and caring by nature, and even though I'm more introverted and can find it hard to open up at first, I'm social and get easily along with everyone. I would describe myself as more of a listener than a talker, and I've had people tell me I'm calming to be around.

    Last year was my first year in university, and due to Covid it was very lonely and mentally exhausting. I experienced a lot of depression and social anxiety, which was very new to me. In addition to loss of study motivation, I've also been having some career doubts, which is why I decided it was time for a gap year. I felt a strong urge to leave my daily life to experience new countries and cultures, so finding WorkAway was so perfect!

    Another reason I want to be able to get some distance from studying is to pursue my creative talents like creative writing - I'm actually in the process of writing a book!

    What I am looking for in my next destination: connection, nature, socializing, animals, a simple lifestyle. I'd love to have some alone time each day for things like writing (preferably in the evening), but I'm very open to any kind of stay.

    I've done two WorkAway gigs in Germany (both of which I loved!) and I'm currently in England until the end of March, after which I'm planning on heading to Italy.

    In terms of COVID and safety regulations, I am fully vaccinated and I'm being very careful to follow the correct time-limits and other regulations during my travels. I am responsible with wearing face masks, keeping safe distances and using hand sanitizer in public places, and as a medical student I am mindful about health-related matters.

    I'm also looking for a travel buddy; I've come to notice that connecting with like-minded people is the best part of WorkAway. I'd really love to share the experience with a peer :)

    Before meeting, I'd love to have a video call on Zoom or a similar platform to sort out practical things and get to know each other beforehand, if it was possible for you!

    I'm very excited to help around and learn new. I'm a fast and dedicated learner if I am needed in tasks I'm not familiar with, and I have a lot of experience with travel. I consider myself reliable and responsible, and I take my work seriously. I consider everything a learning opportunity!

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Astronomy
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    LGBTQ

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    - Customer service: I've worked at my dad's local grocery store for the last 4 summers, and have gained professional experience with many practical skills including customer service.

    - Arts: My most frequent hobbies include creative writing, painting and music (I play the piano). If you'd like, I could make you one of my miniature acrylic paintings of a picture of your choice! I've done this many times for friends and my most recent host family (see my photos), and it's something I really love doing. My painting process is very focused and perfectionistic, so it would require a minimum of two weeks to finish and I'd appreciate it if it was considered a part of my work hours.

    - Animal care: I've recently gained more experience with animals, and I absolutely love working with them. The animals I have most experience with are dogs, cats, chicken, sheep (& lambs!), horses and fish. I really love spending time with animals, and it's definitely one of my top wishes for my stay :)

    I've grown up in the countryside so gardening is somewhat familiar to me, as is light construction or repairing work.

    - Tech: I can use electronics and social media very well and I have worked out a few more demanding technology-related issues in the recent past.

    - Academics: I went to high school in the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme, so academics are very familiar and close to home. If there's need for language teaching or proofreading in English, I'd be more than happy to help!

    - Languages: I'm fluent in English and Finnish and know some Swedish, and have studied some Russian, Finnish sign language and Italian in the past (though I cannot guarantee to remember vocabulary too well). I'm also currently learning Chinese on Duolingo, and I really love it :)

    - Other: I'm good at cooking and baking and enjoy it. In my free time, I've participated in many projects such as theater (in script writing, acting and sound production), creative clubs, volunteer work, camp counselling and other community activities, and I've loved working on similar projects with people! I've also been part of our high school's nature club and debate club, had a dancing hobby and attended 5 km running events.

    Overall, I'm very eager to help in any way possible and learn more, and have proven to adapt quickly to new responsibilities. I'd be ready to provide almost any kind of help, ranging from childcare and animals to art projects and gardening. I might even be able to handle some simple construction or repair work :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Swedish: Intermediate
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I can teach English and Finnish

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    20

  • What else ...

    Additionally, I'm into reading, spirituality, board/card games and arts and crafts. I've gotten into climate and human rights activism within the past few years and find related matters very important.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      some animals (mildly), pollen

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian or vegan if possible

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback