Chien Chien

From: Malaysia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/07/2020 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Kia Ora / Hello / 你好(Ni Hao)!

    I'm a quirky Malaysian Chinese and I've been in NZ since Jan 2020 under Working Holiday Visa. Travelling around the world is always my mom's dream (and of course I love it too) — that explains the rationale of my name actually!

    I'm enthusiastic about helping you and learning at the same time. I enjoy sharing what I know, be it cultural about my home country, my work expertise as a digital designer, or thoughts about self-development, getting to know new people and listen to stories that they have gone through etc. What fascinates me the most is to hear stories that what ticks them in their journey, or even what shaped them who they are today.

    I do speak English, Chinese, Malay and Cantonese in case you wanna pick up some easy word. And... I'm quite soft-spoken too (I'm Chinese but don't get me wrong on the perception of being Chinese means loud if you know what I meant). 🤭

    I'm a non-smoker, quiet, respectful, good hygiene, sociable and easy-going. :) I'm also very keen on learning sustainable living and I eat very healthily*.I would love to learn how to meditate, yoga, live sustainably and healthily, build things, animal care etc. Music, plays, books, movies. Positive energy, good vibes. Plus lotsa love!

    Work experience-wise in NZ, I've worked as a waitress and kitchen hand, packer in Apple Packhouse, Printing manufacturing factory and seedling nursery worker. I've also helped in general maintenance and house cleaning (more skillsets below). By profession, I help clients design a functional mobile app or website (I don't do coding as I'm not a programmer). Let me know if you need help in creating a mobile app or website design. I may not able to code but I may help in tweaking some designs! Feel free to visit my website for this – www.klennie.com

    I hope this short-intro gives you a quick view of me. Please don't let my food allergies list shocked you. I am still who I am as it doesn't affect my personality — quirky, cheerful, responsible, reliable, hardworking... :)

    Looking forward to hearing stories and seeing you all soon!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    • Seedling / gardening / weeding / planting / watering / picking fruits and veggies...
    • General maintenance - help around the house
    • Change sheets / prepare airbnb rooms for new guests (I was once an Airbnb Host too in my own country)
    • Feed pets - play with pets / entertaining them
    • Computer/designing
    • Language (Mandarin/Cantonese/Malay)

    I may be new in many other areas but I am always keen in learning new skills as well, so if there's anything new you'd like me to do, I am happy to give them a try!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent
    Malay: Intermediate
    Chinese (Cantonese): Intermediate

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    Malaysian!

  • What else ...

    I came across another workawayer and she sums it up perfectly – "I have two priorities: to deeply get into the local culture, becoming part of the family and have a very good human experience. And then, I would like to learn new skills and share my personal experiences."

    Please note that I bring my work with me (not all the time, just whenever I've got a freelance). It means that during my free time I might need to stay on my own space and work. Hope you don't mind! :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I've developed food allergies a few months ago. So, preferably I can cook my own meal so that you (host) don't have to go through the hassle! I need to be wheat-free, gluten-free, yeast-free, sugar-free, egg-free and dairy-free. #jawdrop Thanks for unders

Photos

Feedback