From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Morocco

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/01/2018 - 16/03/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello, my name is Katie. Thanks for reading a little bit about me!

    First I fell in love with culture and people - I graduated university with a degree in International Studies, volunteered weekly with a refugee resettlement organization, ran an outreach program in the inner city of Cleveland, Ohio, took care of elder persons as a home health aid, and was excited to hear the story of each person I met along the journey.
    My interest in people eventually led me to discover an interest in food. It seemed that wherever there were people, there was also food. No matter the social-economic class, the citizenship, or the age, I noticed that people bonded over a shared meal. This fascinated me.

    And so I fell in love with food - I left my job and life in Cleveland, Ohio and moved to Cincinnati, Ohio to attend a two-year culinary program at the Midwest Culinary Institute. I took a job at a farm-to-table restaurant, made monthly dinners at my home to practice and experiment new ideas with my friends, and read every book I could get my hands on about chefs and their stories. As my passion for food grew, I became curious about something else. I began to wonder, "Where do these ingredients come from?", "How are they produced?". One day I called a local farm and asked them if I could volunteer and see what the process was for making a seed into the beautiful asparagus, or tomato, or radish that I would end up in my hands as cook.

    That's when I fell in love with farming - During the summer season I volunteered 1-2 days at the farm learning how to plant, harvest, and weed in a 4 acre vegetable garden. I shopped at the local farmers market and enjoyed making conversation with the farmers about their produce, meats, and techniques for farming.

    Now I understand that it is one cycle: the beautiful earth we live on produces amazing things that we can eat and enjoy... and this enjoyment of food brings us together in community and bonds us together as humans...and it is our joy to take care of the earth out of thankfulness and humility for the many good things it produces for us. Now I am searching for workaway experiences that combine all these passions I have for people, food, and farming!

  • Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    Cooking and Gardening are my main skills. I also love to play guitar and enjoy music in general. I played soccer for my university team and love to ride bicycles.

  • Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    In 2010, I studied abroad for 5 months in Martinique where I stayed with a host family and took classes entirely in French. I was able to achieve a level of fluency, however that was several years ago and my French language skill has lessened since then. I hope that it will return to me quickly once I am staying with French speakers. I'm eager to practice!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements