From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Germany, Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/02/2019 - 05/02/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status


  • Description


    A little bit about me: I've been working for almost 20 years in the patent industry as an IP paralegal. Even though it is an interesting profession and I found the perfect employer, I do want to do something different for a change. As a kid it was clear to me that I would become a farmer (I was confident I would marry the oldest son of the farm we went to every year ;-) ). Life chose a different path for me and I remained in the city of Munich to work in an office. I am glad I got the Work & Travel visa so now is the time for changes and to see what's out there in Canada :-)
    I am a positive, energetic person who likes to work (that's right!) and getting things done, doesn't mind getting her hands dirty, laughs a lot and enjoys the time that is given her on this planet. And even though I love being around people, I also enjoy being alone for a while.
    I travel a lot. Every 5 years I took 6 months off to travel which brought me to many places on different continents with different cultures. I have met so many wonderful people, many of whom I am still in touch with. In my experience travelling is the best way to learn about our world. My first big trip was to Canada. I immediately fell in love with its beauty. And now I get the opportunity to return to this magnificent country.
    I love nature and animals, spend most of my free time outside no matter the weather. I am very active, love hiking and trailrunnig (if possible with "my" border collie I take care of once a week), obstacle races (Spartan Races), am a pole dancer and an aerialist and Zumba instructor (worked as a Zumba and Aerial Hoop/Lyra instructor for many years). When on holiday, I try to combine it with fun sports and, if possible, with horses (trail ridings and the like).
    I am not that experienced when it comes to farmwork or the tourism industry. But I did a lot of volunteer work around the world and in 2018 I went to a farm in South Tyrol up in the moutains where I helped with haymaking (7 days, 8 hours a day) after milking the cows and feeding the animals like chicken, geese, cats, dogs etc. I simply loved it! I am a quick lerner, do have a lot of energy and do not shy away from physical work.
    Just recently I did a carpentry workshop (8 hrs over 4 weeks) and I really enjoyed working with wood and using all the tools.
    Why I joined workaway? In 2017 I met some workaway's in New Zealand and ever since they told me about it I could not stop thinking about joining myself . So here I am...
    What I would love to do is work on a farmstay or similar with a combination of working with tourists and taking care of animals, preferably in the middle of nowhere ;-) But I am open to everything that's on my path...

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    - good communication skills, friendly nature, independent;
    - computer (work, excel, etc);
    - experience with dogs/horses and other animals (I take care of a border collie every Monday; used to ride horses and take care of them, did always have pets as a kid, helped with cows, elephants,...);
    - a bit of farming (melking cows, hay harvest (in steep mountains), feeding chickens, geese, cats, dogs, etc.);
    - licensed Zumba instructor
    - Aerial Hoop / Lyra instructor

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    even though a bit rusty because (thankfully) I never needed to use it, I took several first aid courses including the life guard training

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements