James

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/08/2019 - 12/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi I'm Jim, a 27 year old from near Liverpool in the UK.
    In August I'm traveling to Portugal with the intention of working with horses and animals, to grow local projects using my skills and to spend my spare time rock climbing and other outdoor sports in the area. I look forward to learning Portuguese language, the culture and agriculture.
    I'm a very energetic and motivated person, I love hard work outdoors and enjoy making it fun and working with a smile.
    I have spent my working life in construction and arts, in a gallery conserving artwork for 5years and on building sites and in workshops with my father since I was a teenager. I have many passions but mostly in my spare time I enjoy rock climbing, playing music and gardening.
    I love interacting with people and discovering all the things that make up different characters and cultures.
    For the last couple years I have wanted to work with horses in many respects, grooming and general housing and, at some point, learning to ride too. I have been around horses since I was a child and have always been enamoured with their sensitivity and grace but never been in a situation to work with to them. I want my trip to Portugal to be spent working with horses as much as I can and giving any of my skills and hard work to helping projects with them. (e.g. Fences, building etc.)
    I am very versatile and can happily help with many different tasks, so don't be afraid to ask of anything I can do to help you or your project!
    Thanks!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Landscaping & groundworks (paving, fences, drainage, foundation work, block laying & general building and maintenance)
    Some joinery skills (cladding, decking, stud-work, windows, general handywork)
    General gardening skills (Had my own vegetable garden for some time and looking to learn more about Iberian agriculture!)
    Good people skills & customer friendly

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, mostly vegetarian/pescatarian diet

Photos

Feedback