George

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, United Kingdom, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/08/2018 - 30/04/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Here's a little personal history, what I do now, and how I might be able to HELP. At this point in my life I would like to find worthwhile work, which frees up enough time for me to work on my creative endeavours and hopefully earn me some money.

    Military
    At age 16 I joined a scheme to become a technical officer in the military. On that journey I spent two years at College, four years at University, one year at Sandhurst, and three served as a lieutenant troop commander in the Royal Signals.

    Civillian
    I left the Army in 2018 an have been workawaying and travelling for the past two years. I have volunteered in the UK, France, Spain, meeting many people and doing a broad range of workaway jobs, whilst learning a lot about people and myself. I grew my beard, attended the extinction rebellion protests, and walked the Camino del Norte, an 820 Km pilgrimage across Spain. I began writing poetry and before the 'rona began I had a regular poetry gig.

    WORKING
    I work best completing specific tasks to work within a structured work day. I work well with others. I like physical jobs that work up a sweat.

    HOUSEHOLD
    I like to live in a clean environment. I travel with a minimal amount of equipment and clothing and keep my accomodation and shared areas clean. Insistently. I like to cook and eat with others on a communal basis.

    ANIMALS
    I am comfortable with cats & dogs and also working with animals, they do not scare me. Over the years I have fed animals, moved animals, mucked out horses and treated sheep with Orf.

    CHILDREN
    Sometimes, when I have stayed longer in a place especially I have had to respond to the ill discipline of children which the parents were either too tired or too defeated to do themselves. I have watched enough super nanny to know how the game works.

    FREE TIME
    I like using my free time to explore the local area, meet new people, write about my experiences and live well. I appreciate being well fed with dignified accommodation in return for a fair days work. In my free time I like to work on my quest of art. This takes a variety of forms including writing & performing poetry, using social media, and going on excursions to liaise with likeminded artists for collaberation networking events.

    DRINKING
    I drink responsibly if at all these days, and prefer an early start and a walk in nature with friends to a night out. I will join in with the odd glass of wine/beer at dinner.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    Gardening
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Some knowledge of: 

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about: 

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Some gardening experience.
    Household plumbing skills.
    Mechanical skills for fixing vehicles.
    Electrically savvy- lighting, wiring & telephony.
    Concreting.
    Civil engineer by trade.
    Trained in marketing and selling and now using social media and WIX to develop websites.
    I am tidy and hygienic.
    I pick up new skills fast.

  • Languages spoken

    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    English

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback