Gabriel & FI

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi I'm Gab!
    We are on a working holiday I suppose during Corona times due to a change of career, moving out of our house, a family member's death, and a thirst for adventure!

    I like hiking up the Thames and along the coast, playing board games, a bit of reading, painting, metalworking, drawing, writing letters, woodworking and general crafty stuff. As well as a fantastic way of seeing more of the world, I feel these workaway experiences are great ways of meeting new people and learning new skills. And to me both of these aspects are really important.

    Fi:

    I love immersing myself in work travel! I have spent a few months working in different hostels and have many cherished connections around the world from the friends I've made.

    Both me and Gab are from the UK and have a pretty OK sense of humour. He is very smart and sensible. Everywhere we go I am aware he is the beloved half of the team.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Movies & TV

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    General Maintenance
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Bit of a tinker/dabbler/jack of all trades really. I like practical challenges and happy to have a go at anything. Always keen to learn new skills.

    Completely comfortable with fabricating bits and pieces in the workshop, I'm helping students with different woodworking/CAD/printmaking/photography projects everyday. Outside of work I'm currently trying to get to grips with different furniture making skills as well as grubby metalworking and braising. I'm confident with most handtools as well as bandsaws/circ saws/chop saws/routers etc.
    I do a bit of painting too, mainly weirdy little oil paintings but I've done sign/mural painting in the past. Also happy to do basic decorating up a ladder, as long as I'm allowed to wear dungarees.

    I used to help out with different construction jobs, demolition, landscaping, pouring concrete, putting up cladding, and general shifting and lifting. And I've got a bit of an interest learning more traditional/ecofriendly methods and designs.
    I'm very hands-on and I'm not afraid to put some effort in, I like working outside and I'm not easily put off by rain. Whatever work there is to get done, skilled or unskilled, I'll have a crack at it. And if I get to meet new people and see more of the world in return then that's absolutely superb.

    Other muddled skills include, but are not limited to:
    -Going up stairs TWO steps at a time.
    - Reaching high shelves with ease and grace.
    - Cracking apples in half with my bare hands (but never in anger).

    Fi;

    I have some wacky out-there skills in virtual reality filmmaking, escape rooms and video games, but I'm really passionate about event hosting and running parties and group activities.
    I have planned an elaborate birthday treasure hunt for Gab in Oxford, two or so years ago, with all his personal interests.
    And then again a suprise murder mystery with 30 friends to greet him when he moved to my city. (I was the murder victim)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Age

    27 & 27

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian person.

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback