Emily & Joseph

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/01/2019 - 09/04/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello! We are travelling to the states and Canada in the next few months. We would love to find workaway opportunities in order to immerse ourselves in local life and have a more genuine and unique experience than the well trodden tourist route.
    We both have interest in self sustainable living and are hoping to be able to learn more. We are young, fit and enthusiastic. We are willing to help out in any types of projects and be part of the team
    We love travelling, and have between us have been to Australia, south east Asia, most of Europe, and even North Africa. We prefer staying with locals as we think you get to experience the place from a different and more honest perspective.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    We don’t have any practical qualifications as such, Em has experience working in Australia, doing both painting projects and general gardening and fruit picking. She helped build a shed, played with kids and lots of weeding. She has worked as an au pair before, and has just left a job working in the emergency ward of a hospital to come travelling.
    Joe has had work as a gardener, chopping down trees and maintaining gardens. He also has good IT and programming skills, and has a degree in physics. Em thinks he is a fantastic cook...but he is very modest about it ;) he is handy and can accomplish pretty much anything he sets out to do

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    27 & 27

  • What else ...

    We love animals, we have a dog back in England and so will be craving lots of doggy cuddles whilst we are away from her! We are generally very active people-we both can drive, but are fortunate enough to have been able to choose never to own a car. This means we both walk and cycle to work, down town, to the gym, to train stations and airports, shopping...everywhere!
    Em has lots of medical experience too, with backgrounds in allsorts of areas, from midwifery to young children, basic first aid/first response, emergency wards, mental health and elderly care and dementia wards. So that comes with multitudes of stories and it takes quite a lot to surprise her now! She is also musical, she used to play the trumpet and piano, and so likes so have a playalong and a chat about music. Whilst travelling in Australia she did lots of WWOOFing, which is a similar concept to workaway, but more common in oz, so she has experienced working on farms and with families and fitting in. References can be made available if necessary.
    Joe has a degree in physics, and his brain is very science-y and good at problem solving. He can sit for hours talking about the finite points of the physics world. He also is very into all things sports...there is probably not a sport that he doesn’t follow! Tennis is his main focus, and football and cricket too. And cycling. And he loves basketball. And he is naturally great at running. Quite annoyingly good really! He is also a great teacher, he has barrels of patience and is so supportive.
    We would both love to be able to learn a language. We have a basic start in Spanish and French, but it is always on the list of stuff we would like to pursue
    In terms of the vegan thing...please don’t be scared! We both come from meat eating families and both used to eat meat, so we won’t freak out and run away. It’s okay for there to be meat in the house and to be eaten around us. We are laid back and flexible about it, we are not fussy eaters in the slightest. Rice and vegetables, or potatoes, or just fruit and bread! We will work around you and will always find something to fill us!
    We help to run 3 different youth groups back in the UK, one boys brigade (very traditional and ‘school’ like) one after school drop in (a flexible centre for kids to pop by in the afternoon to meet with friends and play, focussed around younger ones) and an evening youth group (older teenagers, mixture of led games and discussions and creativity) It means that we both have police DBS checks and are totally set up for childcare/being with vulnerable people

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      We are vegan, we understand that it can be quite scary to have to cater for specific needs...but we’re pretty chilled out about it, and are happy to give ideas, help meal prep and cook, or even do our own thing if that’s more practical or works best in th

Photos

Feedback

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more