Debbie

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/05/2019 - 30/05/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Friendly, adaptable, fit, hard-working countryside-lover used to team working and living!

    I have worked for 15 years in a large wholefoods supermarket run as a worker's co-operative in Manchester, England (https://www.unicorn-grocery.coop/) where my job is a real mixture of manual shop work, co-management of our deli department, and overseeing our external communications, PR and events. I am also a director of a social enterprise called The Kindling Trust, which sets up and supports food-based social enterprises.

    When I'm not working I'm cooking, hiking in the hills, reading or playing sports (netball and ping pong!). I have my own allotment where I grow fruit (redcurrants, blackcurrants, gooseberries, jostaberries and damsons) and I also help run a fruit-harvesting project which distributes surplus fruit from gardens and allotments to people who need it. I previously helped run a community orchard project and I have volunteered for a local market garden which supplies our co-operative with organic salad and vegetables.

    I love to travel and often travel alone as well as with friends, and previous working trips (via the WWOOF network) have been some of my best travel experiences. I am a very active person and for me, working somewhere beautiful surrounded by nature can be as relaxing (or more so?!) as sitting on a beach. I also really value the immersive experience of staying with a local household, although I'm pretty independent and like some of my own space as well as social time. I have previously wwoofed in Mexico and more recently in the USA on a small commercial orchard in Montana, a Community Supported Agriculture vegetable farm in New York state and a smallholding in Massachusetts looking after pigs, poultry and alpacas.

    I'm really interested in all types of ecological food production, love gardening, and keen to experience rural living and help out others running interesting and like-minded projects. I have a cat and I love animals - any kind of pets or farm ones. I speak English and a little Spanish.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work

  • What skills do you have?

    Gardening
    Cleaning (I like it, weirdly)
    Communication
    Problem solving
    Self-management
    Collective/team working
    I'm generally a practical person, quick learner and a fast worker. I'm also a 'finisher', I don't like leaving things un-done (or badly done!)

  • Languages spoken

    English and a little Spanish

  • Age

    38

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback