Clara

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/06/2019 - 17/07/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello! I am Clara! I am a Junior in Architectural History at the Savannah College of Art and Design in Savannah, Georgia. While I hope to create a career in adaptive reuse of historical architecture, I am also fascinated by social and cultural history. Reading, exploring, tree-climbing, dancing, joke-telling, knitting, writing, editing, and cooking are a few of my hobbies.

    I come from a family of Anglophiles. When I was four, I had an English accent because my family only watched BBC television shows as my parents thought they were cleaner than American TV. I would really love to experience all that I can of English, Welsh, and Scottish culture!

    I've grown up in an intentional community in western New York State called the PeaceWeavers. Based on principles of health, wellness, and peace, this community has an organic farm, a retreat center, and 250 acres serving as a peace sanctuary. I was homeschooled in this community, and I have 10+ years of experience gardening on our vegetable farm. I also assisted with child care and food prep for the past 5 years.

    Outside of the community, I have worked as a housekeeper in two bed and breakfasts. At university, I work in our local contemporary art museum in guest services and as a docent .

    Finally, I am very communicative, curious, and unabashedly enthusiastic.

    Thank you very much for your time and consideration!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a skilled housekeeper and gardener. I have experience with natural building, particularly timberframing. While child care is not my main interest, I do have experience in it. I have a lifetime's worth of knowledge about living in intentional community, the vegan lifestyle, and holistic health practices. I am also willing to learn other crafts and skills!

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent in English, with a little French.

  • Age

    21

  • What else ...

    I plan to be in the UK for most of June and July, but I have never been before. As I don't know anyone across the pond, I am hoping to meet new people through my hosts. I would also love to get recommendations from hosts about local historic and cultural highlights, hidden gems, and must-sees!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am lifelong vegan, but I am very low maintenence. I am willing and able to cook my own meals! I am also gluten free, but I occasionally ignore it in pursuit of pastries.

Photos

Feedback