Beth

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/05/2019 - 25/07/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi! We're Beth the human, 25, and Juno the dog, 1. I am a student and have a basic degree in animal care (this is not the same as veterinary studies, whilst I have some first aid knowledge, I can't provide veterinary care for your animals). I'm currently studying a part time Bsc in applied animal behaviour. My favourite animal to work with are dogs and I enjoy dog training, although I prefer to look at the bigger picture of dog management, personality, and needs as part of training, rather than simply focusing on teaching a dog to 'behave'. I'm used to being around all sorts of dogs. I've worked and volunteered at dog rescues and various dog businesses. I also have experience working with farm animals like pigs, sheep, chickens, cows, and goats, and even more exotic animals like emus and llamas. I LOVE goats especially, and also have found sheep to have such gorgeous personalities once they trust you. I also adore pigs and love how vocally expressive they are 😂. I have worked with horses, ponies and donkeys several times but don't have riding experience. Juno is a typical teenage dog, very friendly and enthusiastic. She is used to other animals but we've been in the city for a while now, so she might have a bark at first. Juno has had some aversive life experiences with other dogs, and is working through these, she has improved massively in her confidence but isn't at the stage where she's happy to meet every other dog yet, and must be kept separately/not have other dogs running up to her. She travels with me and I hold her need to feel safe as a top priority. If you believe your property isn't set up to make this possible/your dogs free roam your entire property please flag this up. NB I have a small camper van so I don't need full accommodation, but shower and a toilet are helpful! I'm currently looking into a small caravan to tow so that I can participate in extended stays at animal sanctuaries as they are my favourite places to help out. In hot climates there must be somewhere cool for Juno to rest (in a crate) whilst I work.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    Dog training, animal care, practical skills to a point. I'm a good writer and can help you with proof reading or wording things in English if you need me to.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    Ask me any questions if there's anything you want to know :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Penicillin, but no foods

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback