Ameer

  • South Africa
  • Login to see last activity

Friends (4)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    Activities i am interested in:

    I'm interested in all kinds of outdoor and indoor activities. I enjoy teaching English, physical activity and doing community work. I also enjoy lending a hand to whomever needs assistance.

    My next destination:

    Turkey - from May 2022 until Dec 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hi! I'm Ameer. I'm 22 years old and from Cape Town, South Africa.

    What attracted me to workaway is the unique way it allows you to travel and learn in a different country in an extraordinary way. My Aunt has hosted workawayers before and through that I was exposed to this special way of traveling. I am very much eager to embark on this experience and learn so many new things.

    I spent 5 years memorizing the Quran. Thereafter completed high school and went on to do one year of study in Business Administration. Subsequently, I went on to study Electrical engineering and completed an N1 and N2 in Electrical engineering. I have a TEFL qualifications to add to my skills tool kit which includes an Advanced level of Teaching English as a Foreign Language and also an Advanced Level of Teaching English to Young Learners.

    I thrive on learning new skills. I am a true social being who loves to meet new people and to learn about different cultures. I regard myself as culturally competent and believe in being respectful and tolerant towards all.

    The type of work is not a major factor for me because I am able to adapt to any situation. Should there be no task assigned, I would find something constructive to do in order to maximize my time spent. In my spare time I would like to sightsee, go for walks or hikes, relax and listen to music, get to know the locals and experience the foreign culture.

    I play all kinds of sports and find happiness in taking care of my health and others. I am motivated to travel in order to improve my traveling skills, diversify and experience different cultures.

    I also see myself as a good companion - I am fun to be with, and I am adventurous.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    DIY & crafts
    Writing

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I am a 22 year old male. I am open minded, always willing to help and would consider myself a jack of trades. I spent 5 years memorizing the Quran. Thereafter completed high school and went on to study Business administration. After a year, I realized that blue collar work was where I was meant to be. Thereafter, I went on to study Electrical engineering and completed an N1 and N2 in Electrical engineering.

    I had the experience of traveling to Saudi Arabia for religious visiting's and stayed for one month on my own. I have always been able to take care of myself through buying and selling goods. I also have a love for fitness and sports. In 2014 I played Seven's Rugby for Stellenbosch University Academy u15's.

    I am a Native English speaker and have qualifications in teaching English as a foreign language. I am able to teach English, Mathematics, Quran recitation, do personal training, be a handy man, maintain properties and care for children. I pride myself on being neat, respectful, dedicated and caring for those around me. I have experience in working in construction, retail and tutoring. I am able to look after children and animals and I have the ability to adapt to different situations very easily.

    I also possess skills such as:
    • Excellent verbal and written communication skills
    • Leadership
    • Team management
    • Critical thinking and problem-solving skills
    • Organizing and planning
    • Computer literacy - Microsoft Office & Apple's iWork

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Afrikaans: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Arabic: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I am able to teach English, Afrikaans and Quraan at an advanced level and Arabic at a beginner level.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    I am quite social. I love meeting new people and learning about their different cultures and backgrounds. I enjoy surfing, hiking, playing soccer and being outdoors. I am very open to learning, and although I might not know everything required, I will always be determined to learn and try my best.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Halaal

Friends

Photos

Feedback

This Workwayer has not received any feedback yet.