John

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bolivia, Ecuador, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2017 - 02/04/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I am a Creative individual, always immersed into some art, linguistic or research project. In life I have searched for the right niche to fully commit and devote my passionate energy into what some might call - a career. Finally I have discovered Permaculture, and specifically Earthships. These are programs to upload in the locality in which you plug into, and a on a larger scale, a driving design for the greater world to work towards. In this regenerative and biohybrid future, in which one can actually participate in, by getting their hands dirty in the system loops that nature has given us.
    Upon hearing about the Earthship model of the fully autonomous house, made from bioregional building material, not just the soil from the environment, but the humangarbage that is always local to Us, I knew my search had ended.
    The prospect of building these Earthships has got to be the most inspiring thing I have ever heard about! I am ready to travel and learn from those around the world in work-exchange programs, helping build these integrated nature-machine-houses of the future so I can one day build my parents a ship to retire in.

    My favourite Authors right now would be, James Hillman, Joseph Campbell, Carl Jung, and R.D. Laing. I love words and researching their etymology, seeing how they change and morph over time through different cultures. I have recently discovered that 'drawing meditation' is my most intuitive meditation that comes most naturally, after trying out various other forms of centering myself.
    Thank you for taking the time to read out this synopsis, I am excited to get building after this tree planting season!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    The only places where I would normally read this heading of "skill" is in a typical Job application, and I think that the volunteer positions in Workaway are coloured quite differently, so I will do my best not to make this sound like a Westernized Resume.


    Keen Interest in how other cultures behave in their unique environments
    Explorer
    Forager / Wildcrafting
    Cartoonist / Abstract Painter
    Creative writer
    High Endurance Athlete / Labourer
    Empathy - Talk Therapy
    Tree planter



    I am initially very shy, but recently I have been finding a novel interest in leading groups, and teaching.

  • Languages spoken

    English - Learning Spanish

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    Interested in collaborating with any Host artist projects, or creative writing.

    I love to challenge myself physically, carrying a heavy load, or long treks.

    Very interested in the medical plants in the area that i am travelling.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      Preferably Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback