Justus & Alina

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Mexico, Nicaragua, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/05/2019 - 30/04/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi there,
    we are Alina and Justus, a young couple from Germany. In May 2019 we will finally start our long awaited journey through the Americas. We love to discover interesting people and beautiful landscapes everywhere so we decided to travel from Canada to Argentina in one year. Alina finished her bachelor in Social Work in 2018 (she is studying political and social sciences now) and I will finish my bachelor thesis in April, so our journey will presumably begin in May. We can hardly wait! To come closer to local people we hope to find places to stay in exchange for help with anything that's coming up.

    We live in Saxony, which is a region in the East of Germany. The Saxon Switzerland is a small mountain range less than an hour from our home and our favorite place to stay. You can go “boofen” there, which is an old German word for sleeping outside. A “Boofe” is like a cave but not that closed: it has a rooftop out of rock and sand on the ground so you can sleep without tent or anything else. We love to spend time there with our friends, go climbing, hiking and so on. Apart from that we go bouldering in our free time, we love to dance and hang around with people. But we also like to chill, just read a good book or something else. Till traveling we also have to do a lot with our studies and side jobs, which is fun too. We know each other for 6 years now and are very happy to have the opportunity to make a long trip together.

    Alina is a very intelligent, open and communicative person, who cares for everyone she meets. Her empathic nature makes her a great person to discuss personal problems (one of the reasons why she studied social work), but one can also philosophize about god and the world with her. Whenever we travel together she is usually the one to initiate contact with the local people and acts as the senior cook if we prepare a meal to share with someone. Although she prefers to have a general plan about what’s going on, in the right situation she can also be very spontaneous.
    Another big part in her life is music. She enjoys sounds from all around the globe, but more importantly she also loves to sing herself (or in a group), if possible accompanied by a guitar, which she can play too.
    Alina enjoys working (or spending time) with children of all ages but also with anyone else who could need help or company. She doesn’t back away from difficult social situations, because she is able to see the true person beneath the surface everyone else sees. As already mentioned she studied social work, which further developed these skills and furthermore enables her to care for elderly people or mediate in difficult situations, which I believe to be a very valuable skill in any group of people. Of course she can also help with different tasks. People who work with her describe her as reliable, organized and considerate; she is someone who sees what needs to be done and does it.

    Justus is a friendly and uncomplicated guy. He is spontaneous and will be open minded for every kind of adventure or work you offer him. He loves to try new stuff and get more knowledge and experiences. He is also a quick learner. In everything he does he is conscientious and perfectionistic, so you can be sure things you entrust him are in good hands. At Home in Germany he studied “Studium Individuale” which is quite difficult to explain but has to do with political and economic science, ethics and financial stuff. Aside he has a good knowledge on computers and internet. He is also skilled in manual jobs. Because he lived in the United States for one year and learned it by reading his English is brilliant (for a German man) particularly in writing. Maybe he can also help you in tasks where it is important for, like writing letters or teaching children and help them with homework. Justus is an “outside-guy”, he loves nature, climbing and just doing something in the open air. He isn’t fussy and very intelligent so just ask him for everything you need help or company for. He is trained and fit, so he is able to work physically. In general I love to be around him because it is so easy and pleasant to have fun, good conversations and a satisfying time with him.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Like you can also read in the description
    Alina can:
    - take care of or work with children
    - help elderly people
    - help with charity work
    - cook
    - go shopping
    - help with housekeeping
    - support you with gardening
    - or with animals
    - teach/ help with homework

    Justus can:
    - fix and build (general maintenance)
    - help with computer or Internet problems
    - teach/ help with homework
    - help with gardening
    - help with every other kind of manual work
    - support you with animal work
    - solve problems/ search for solutions

  • Languages spoken

    English, German, French, learning Spanish

  • Age

    26 & 24

  • What else ...

    just write us if you have any questions

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      nothing serious

    • Special dietary requirements
      At home we eat vegetarian most of the time, but we are happy to adapt to the eating habits of our surroundings :)

Photos

Feedback