Adam

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/02/2019 - 20/02/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello all!
    Coming from London my trade has previously been as an actor/director/artist but three years ago I moved out of the city and have since been volunteering via HelpX, WWOOFing, word of mouth and now Workaway. I wanted a shift in lifestyle and have gone from France, Portugal, Canada and others to learn a more natural, self-sufficient way. This has pushed me by necessity and passion into construction, permaculture, forestry and all the thousand other specialities used outside of the more intensely industrialised paths of life and all the joys in between with a huge variation of hosts and environments. (Writing this after a week of rock climbing.) I'm currently travelling in Ariège in the French Pyrenees and for experience in eco building, animal care, bushcraft and edible forestry.

    Now I'm looking to spend at least the summer months in Spain, the focus for me has shifted into more activity and urban based work.

    I flourish in both extremely isolated and in close community environments, baking hot, freezing cold, professional, laid-back, it's all growth. If I have enough food, sleep and work to keep me stimulated then you'll have one of the most capable workers you can hope to find. I'm a relaxed and open soul by nature but since I have a strong drive to develop my skills, and find immense enjoyment at being shown them from such diverse people, I need no motivation to be an intense worker. Besides you're opening your home to me!
    I'm looking forward to meeting you and please don't hesitate to ask anything that's on your mind!

    See you soon,
    Adam

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    My career in England took two paths, first at the age of fourteen I began working in kitchens and have since spent time in restaurants, hotels, bars and pubs taking on most roles they offer (kitchen assistant, waiter, barman, cleaner etc).
    The second half of my work has been in the arts, mostly in the theatre and in later years in film. This has covering acting, directing, dancing, sound and lighting, writing etc.

    Within the last three years I've worked mainly in agriculture and self-sufficient maintainance (both early stages set ups e.g. in West Canada I spent time in a land of three years chopping firewood, clearing the forest, irrigration trenches, assisted and tore down a damaged carpentry workshop and picking sooo many blackberries). And in well developed communities (e.g. in Portugal I cared for 30 holistically kept sheep, a permaculture garden, milled and constructed fourteen raised ('Lasagne') beds, built an archery target (of course), looked after children of ages 0-whenever you think you stop being a child (90 doesn't seem enough), minded the tree nursery and harvested from an mature orange orchard.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I've found a great drive in learning from so many different people across the world.
    Give me enough food to burn up, enough sleep to use down and we can get building.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No.

    • Special dietary requirements
      No.

Photos

Feedback