Permaculture project in Tomar, Portugal. Looking for house sitter and offering a long term opportunity

Country

Portugal

Favourited 73 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    38

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️ Would you like the opportunity to live in a piece of paradise in central Portugal *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    My name is Daniela and I have been in Portugal building my dream for three years now. Unfortunately my families needs have changed somewhat in that time and we are now thinking of returning to the UK for half of the year or more.
    We do not want to give up what we have here and it breaks my heart to even think about selling up so we thought we'd see if we could find any like minded folk that want a longer, more permanent experience working on a farm (of sorts).
    We are looking for the right people who would like to share in the responsibility, and be able to devote their time and energy into what has been started and is now becoming established.

    The food forest has been planted and is becoming well established with many fruit trees including Orange, Apple, Pear, Lemon, Lime, Cherry, Plum and many more. There are also 90+olive trees on the land, Purple and Yellow fig trees, Wallnut trees, Almond and hazel trees. As well as other Fruits such as Raspberry, Blueberry, gooseberry, Kiwi, Goji, Physalis and grape and many herbs including basils, mint, chives, thyme, rosemary, sage. Basically if it grows in Portugal its growing in my garden.

    Living and working here will give you the chance to build your own projects and experiment with developing the land to becoming self sufficient.

    Although we have no certification we consider our land to be Organic and free of chemicals.

    Animals on the farm currently consist of many Chickens, 2 Pigs, and 3 Geese. There is expansive room to build other plots for grazing animals. The animals are not currently for eating as they are considered helpers on the farm. However, we are occasional meat eaters and I have considered keeping meat birds many times in the past. It is something I will probably get round to at some point in the future, so the opportunity might not be for passionate Vegans.

    Our house has a self contained apartment which consists of 2 bedrooms, living area, and mezzanine with bedroom and chill out area. We have mains water in the house and Bore hole water which feeds the garden.

    We rely on mains electricity for the apartment and house, however we do have solar to heat the water. Our plan is to become totally self sufficient over time.

    If you are interested in this opportunity, please read through the rest of our page to get to know us better and email me for more information.

    Look forward to meeting you x

    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️

    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️ A bit about Us *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    We are a family of five people, 2 grown ups (ish), 2 boys and a girl 16,13 & 9.

    The extended family includes Neera and Gypsy- our lovely dogs, Clive, Eminem, Billy and Midnight the cats, 2 guinnea pigs and the farm animals Geese, Pigs and Chickens.....

    We moved to the central area of Portugal, near the city of Tomar, in October 2016. Our dream is to build a healthy organic life in the sun.

    Tomar is a beautiful, small, city with just about a bit of everything. The city itself is steeped in history and home of the beautiful Knights Templar Castle, Convent of the Order of Christ and the Church of Santa Maria do Olival.

    We are 50 mins from Coimbra and an hour from Lisbon. Our place is only 5 km from town, in a very quiet village. There is a cafe in the village, a train stop within a km with connections to Tomar and Lisbon, and a bus service (but the buses are few a day). If you fancy some swimming to cool down, we are 15 mins from Castelo Do Bode the largest lake in Portugal.

    The house we live in is newly converted and just about finished, the land is around 10,000 square meters and features olive trees, various fruit trees, bushes and herbs.

    Our aim is to become as self sufficient as we can be and gradually turn the land into a food forest. At the same time we are home educating the children so the balance between working the land and spending time with the children is really important. We are looking for families/couples to come and lend a hand on the land and we would love to have some help with the children and to be able to offer them the chance to get to know other cultures and people from other countries. It could be a lovely learning opportunity for everyone.

    We have lots of projects in mind for the future, but to start with we need the basics taking care of!

    We look forward to meeting you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are experimenting with a few different techniques in the garden, it is a learning process that seems to be working well so far but I am exited to meet people that can share their experience too.
    We are a pretty laid back family, we work really well together and look forward to sharing our experiences with others.

  • Help

    Help

    We require help mainly on the land for a 5 hours a day. Duties include cutting grass, weeding, planting, pruning trees, watering, spreading mulch and other general gardening jobs and animal care. We may also need a bit of help in and around the house or with the children too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian, Portuguese (learning)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 2 double beds in a converted shared apartment. We can provide you with showers and everything else you may need. We can also provide one Large Bell Tent with beds and sleeping bags, or you are free to bring your own tent or van if you prefer to be on the land.

    We may not always be able too provide cooked meals however we will provide you with all the food you need and you will be able to cook in our shared kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is quite a bit to do with your time off here, Tomar is only 5km away, there are lots of walks, there is the lake which is around 10km away. We can provide the odd lift here and there. There is wifi at the property if needed, however this is not the quickest and is shared with the rest of the house. We hope people who come and spend time with us have a fantastic experience, have fun, laugh, play and respect each other.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 855932977855