Welcome/Bienvenue to Tahiti, Punaauia, French Polynesia

Country

French Polynesia

updated  

Favourited 120 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    64.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome ! Please read all the way down, thank you ! Merci de lire jusqu'a la fin.

    Hi , I am Michel, builder and sailmaker. I travelled on my trimaran Samba during 20 years with my previous wife and our kids, around the world and visited a few countries. My daughter, Diane is 26 and my son, Mako is 21. They both live in France . I live in Tahiti since 2009.on Samba, my boat until 2018 and since then I live in a house next to which I build my workshop.

    I also organize sailing trips in the island with customers. Please note that this is my job , so do not expect to be taken for free to a trip in the islands. hahahahaha!

    From march 2019 I was lucky to share the house with Beatrice and her 2 kids: Eliot, 7 years and Antonin, 5 years.
    Since January 2021, we decide to move to friendship relationship and the room previously free for workawayer is now occupied by Sabrina and her daughter Chanon.
    I now spend more time on my boat now, usually the weekend, but as my workshop is next to the house, I stay a few days/week there.
    So now I can mainly receive "workawayers" onboard Samba!

    I'm Beatrice, I'm a teacher at Primary school. We came to Tahiti with my kids to enjoy the sweet tropical way of life. We love sailing and being next to the sea.

    We use to go out dancing, but now it's not possible anymore...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak french, english, spanish and portuguese. Play chess. And we are dancers { salsa, bachata, kizomba and tango). So you can learn some of those.

    Michel :having traveled a lot on my previous boats, since age of 12, I have some experience and stories I can share.
    Beatrice :enjoy the sweet tropical way of life. We love sailing and being next to the sea. I like to share the daily life with foreigners, so we travel with their stories staying at home.

  • Help

    Help

    The house has a big garden., so the grass need to be cut regularly. I also have a sailing boat, a 48 ' trimaran which also ask for some maintenance, she is anchored in the lagoon, in Arue, so if working on it, you will be in a quite nice spot, with sea around !

    I expect you, (after working hours), to give an hand to prepare the meals, put the table, clean it after eating, clean dishes and help to keep the boat clean, like in any other community living.
    I like people how are: polite, able to say what they feel (either like or dislike) and speak about it with calm and respect.

    Pour les francais : en Polynesie, tout le monde se tutoie, vous pouvez commencer a vous y faire en ecrivant. Et les gens se levent tot ,5h 6h, certains tres tot, 4h... Les gens sont gentils et serviables et vous pouvez demander d'appeller quelqu'un, tout le monde a un tel portable.

    Merci de prevenir si vous ne comprenez pas toutes les informations sur le profil. Sans commentaire de votre part, j assume que vous avez tout compris et que mes conditions vous plaisent.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    On Samba, you can have a cabin for yourself, the boat is big and comfortable.

    I offer 2 options :
    1/ you help out 3 hours a day and get free accomodations. You have to buy yourself your food and drinks.
    2/ you help 5 hours a day and get free accommodation , food and drinks.

    Please note: you will need to be able to wake up, alone, at 6 AM and start at 7.
    Like this you can complete your 5 h in the morning and we can all be free the afternoon.
    I usually take only 1 person at a time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I do not host smokers. Please do not ask if you are a smoker. Thank you.
    I like nice and smooth relation ship . So I will easily give a try for 1 or 2 nights to see how things go .
    Only after those 2 days try will I accept to keep you longer. This to be sure we both enjoy each other and agree on the work and the way it goes.
    If you read up to here, please write " Samba was build in Trinidade" at the beginning of your request. Thank you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 to 5 hours a day. Depending option choosen

Beatrice
Samba, 48' trimaran.
the kids and their friends
Christmas 2019

Host ref number: 853161512248