Help us in our house in Breiðdalur, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 156 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/10/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a sheep farm. Maintaining fences, houses and an old farm house. Herd the sheeps in the autumn, at lambing season in may, making hay over the summer and lots.
    I have 3 children, 2 daughters 10 and 7 years old and one son 3 year old since december. There is enough to do on the farm. I (Guðný) do some occasionally work away from the farm and the kids go to kindergarten and school. Over the summer there is need of a babysitter and help with the house and cooking. The old farm house is for you to stay in, with kitchen, WC and 2-3 bedrooms. Just perfect for couples or friends.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience and a stay in icelandic nature. Its very peaceful here, with none tourists and the wild nature is just in the backyard. We have wonderful mountains. In the winter we can enjoy the northern lights very well, because there is no citylights. In the summer we enjoy the short nights and true nature :)

  • Help

    Help

    Help with household, cooking, cleaning and childrens.
    Maintaining fences, houses and an old farm house. Painting, tidying and so on in the out houses.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private old farmhouse. We have two 150 cm beds there.
    There is a private kitchen so you can have your breakfast on your own and some snacks, that we provide. But there are regular mealtimes in our family. Cooked meal every evening.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many places to visit around us and beautiful hiking routes just in our land. Nature lovers will like it alot! Transportation is little bit difficult, but we will help as we can to get you to bus that goes around the coast line. Or even try our best to lend you a car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 674691596254