Help needed in the one and only backpackers Hostel in Osorno, Chile

Country

Chile

Favourited 143 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/01/2018

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone!
    I'm an easy going Chilena girl in my thirties that loves to travel and meet new people, I have been working in the Hospitality Industry in the US and Chile for about 15 years. Currently I run a couple of small backpackers hostels and other small bussiness in the South of Chile so I'm always looking for help with different projects.
    The Hostel is pretty small, 20 beds, so volunteers will have a great chance to meet other travelers and have a great time. The Hostel it is located in a real "Casa Sureña" made of wood where the fire has to get started when is too cold and it is beautiful decorated inside like a mountain lodge inspired by the Vermont green mountains where I used to live in the US.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Hostel life can offer lots of freedom and opportunities to enjoy yourself, meet other travelers and learn about customer service. I try to accomodate all of our volunteers and make sure they have a good time, feel at home and part of the team.

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for experienced, cheerfull, outgoing, smart, organized, hardworking, independent and eneregetic individuals that can help for 4-5 hours of quality work each day.
    Somebody that has the initiative to see what needs to be done and do it, and will not need a lot of supervision. Would be great if the volunteer is fluent in English and Spanish to be able to relate with the rest of the team and the Hostel Manager that speaks Spanish.
    Currently I'm looking for help cleaning, gardening, painting and other DIY projects.
    Some duties can include: cleaning kitchen, cleaning common areas, cleaning bedrooms, making beds, doing laundry, folding and ironing sheets, washing dishes, cleaning windows, etc.

    For the Handy man/gardener, some experience gardening and painting will be appreciated. Dutties can include painting walls, restoring and painting terrace, cut grass, trim bushes, build fire pits, decorate gardens, plant seeds, rake leaves, organize storage room with tools, shop wood, start fire when cold, restoration of old furniture, change light bulbs and other DIY projects.
    If you are really friendly, organized and fluent in both languages I will really appreciate it if you can help the Hostel guests with their needs, give them directions, recommend and help them organice fun things to do in the area, go out for walks or drinks, etc.

    I also own two dogs that need lots of love, they are my babies and they usually hang out at the hostel, and unfortunately I'm always so bussy that I don't have enough time for them. You can help me taking them for walks, give them baths, play fetch at the park, dog sit, among others.

    Please remember that this is a WORK exchange not a PLAY away.
    You will be asked to work 4-5 hours each day for 5 days and then you can have 2 days off.

    Depending on the Hostel needs you can help in the morning, afternoon or evening shift.

    No outside guests permitted, no pets, no drugs, no smoking inside, no loud parties and no drunk crazy people.
    I'd would like to start with a trial basis of two weeks, and we can discuss a longer term if it works out.
    You will need to have a phone to text or e-mail for communication while you are here.
    A passport or ID will need to be provided at arrival.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will have free accomodation at the Hostel in the shared dorm, a great chance to meet other travelers and make new friends!. Linen, blankets and towels will be included.
    There is a big fully equipped kitchen, washer and dryer that volunteers can use, and also free wifi.
    Breakfast will be provided daily and occasional shared meals depending on my schedule.
    Stay for free in one of our sister' s hostels!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Hostel is in the town of Osorno in the beautiful Lakes Region in Chile surrounded by lakes, volcanoes and National Parks.
    Close by there are grocery stores, restaurants, cafes, public transportation, farmer's markets , cool bars, etc.
    Pretty much an hour bus ride from town and you can be chilling and eating great cheap seafood on the Pacific coast or trekking and soaking after a long day in the hot springs at the National Park.
    Also you can visit a few cute German looking towns like Puerto Octay, Frutillar, Osorno, Puerto Varas and Puerto Montt and enjoy their arquitecture and sweet specialties like "Apfel Kuchen"
    Volunteers will have access to explore all of these places in their free time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

krissi and Samantha from the USA playing with our puppy
Sarah from the USA and Andreas from Austria helping with the garden
Some of the stuff that was helping as volunteers in the summer. I am the one with the little dog, a Chilean Terrier named Juno ;)







Host ref number: 229336448837