Simon

aus: Schweiz

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Australien, Deutschland, Frankreich

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    16.04.2017 - 21.12.2017

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

Watch my profile video


  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    I've worked the last 10 years in the solar industry mainly as a business controller and project manager. As these companies had or have an international setup, I'm quite used to work with people with a different cultural background and in a team. Now I feel like it's time to explore our beautiful planet a bit more again. And I'm absolutely fascinated to do that with workaway because it's based on the idea of give and take! Moreover I think it's a great idea to bring different people together and so to inspire each other.

    Before my studies, to become a business process engineer, I was backpacking quiet a lot around the world. I've visited so far about 30 countries and in some of those like Madagascar, Morocco, Sri Lanka, Vietnam, Cambodia or Cuba it was not always only holidays. But I would not miss one of the experiences and adventures and I hope there will be some more to come!

    2015 I was volunteering for 6 weeks on a Macadamia Farm in Australia. My main duties were to slash grass with a tractor but I was also pruning, fertilizing, shifting stones to avoid erosion, cleaning up the workshops and doing some simple tasks with a fork lift and bob cat. Furthermore I stayed in my early twenties also with a family in Sydney for 3 months because I was studying English there.

    In summer time I like to go for a swim in the local river (Aare) or it's also good fun to explore the greater area of Bern, where I live, by bicycle or mountain bike. Nowadays I don't use as much the big cultural opportunities in Bern as I did some years ago, but you could still find me for instance in an open door cinema, concert, theatre or also at the football match or simply chilling with a beer and friends. As the mountains are very close, you will find me there mainly in winter time skiing or doing any other outdoor activities.

    An other big hobby in my life is Floorball (indoor hockey). I've been playing it for over 20 years and I'm still playing for fun ones a week and I'm coaching also a kids team. Well, and to keep me in shape I also play badminton or squash once a week.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I'm very open to assist you with all work you ask me to do .

    I have experienced the following while I was volunteering:
    Lambing, drafting, tagging, worming, mustering, milking, animal care & feeding (mainly sheep and cattle),
    silage making, leading crops including side loading from the combine, straw turning, hay and straw bale transport/collection, tillage,
    fencing (incl. a 30 km project in Australia),
    grass mowing, trimming, weeding, chainsawing, concreting, rendering, painting, cleaning

    Professional skills: project management, business administration & controlling, accounting, company management

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Alter

    41

  • Nationalität

    Swiss

  • Was noch ...

    I'm reliable, hard working, easy going, open minded and curious how you master your daily challenges.
    Good physical condition

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Fotos

Macadamia Farm in Australia
The team I was coaching
On tour in Italy
Also on the farm in Australia
Diary farm in France - driving the tractor for silage making
Working on a sheep & beef farm in France

Feedback