Nicole & James

  • Großbritannien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (4)

Explorer
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Wir sind gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Hello and Thank you for checking out our account!

    We are Nicole and James, two distilled Workawayers eager to expand our repertoire of experiences. We are a couple of English teachers from Scotland, travelling Peru.

    We had secured a house-sitting position in Moyobamba and planned to stay there for six months but unfortunately our house was broken into and all of our valuables were stolen. Sadly we had to leave where we were staying, since we no longer felt safe.

    Despite our unfortunate start, we love Peru and met so many wonderful, caring people. We would love to to engage in at least two Workaways, for a period of 3-4 weeks before our departure in December. Our time in Peru has been so enriching and we can't wait to experience Workaway here!

    I (Nicole) have a Bachelors Degree in Journalism, a HNC in Law and a 150 hour TEFL Certificate. James has an Honours Degree in Time Based Art and a 150 hour TEFL Certificate. We have been engaging in workaway projects throughout Europe for over five years now and have found it to be one of the most enriching aspects of our lives. We are both passionate about nature and love learning about eco-construction and sustainable farming practices. At the moment we would love to learn more about the culture within Peru and develop our Spanish.

    While carrying out my studies I worked front of house for a busy restaurant. I'm highly experienced in customer facing roles. I pride myself on my customer service and ability to make guests feel at home. James is also an experienced chef and would be able to offer his services in the kitchen. I am an avid foodie too. We would love to share our recipes and indulge in sharing meals as part of our cultural exchange. As we are both experienced English teachers, we can of course offer our services in that regard too.

    I have an Honours Degree in Journalism and am apt at running social media accounts, website editing/ maintenance, photography videography and PR. I recently received The Media Award for my position as Communications Manager for the Gender Equality Society in Edinburgh. I would love the opportunity to utilise some of my skills to promote your project. I value being close to nature and enjoy reading, writing, meditation, yoga, climbing and hiking.

    James' Honours Degree in Time Based Art allowed him to develop skills using digital platforms, such as music and film to create contemporary art. His main passion is creating music and he is a talented painter.

    James and I performed two plays, which I authored and directed, together in the Edinburgh Fringe Festival-the World's largest International Arts festival. We co-performed again in a successful Cabaret show I directed. It broke records for the highest funds raised by any society event at our university.

    We would be very enthusiastic about sharing our creative talents and learning new techniques from others. Securing a Work Away placement where we can express ourselves creatively would be fantastic. We are very open to all types of Work Away opportunities as we have experience in a variety of different sectors and would love to learn more.

    We are passionate about sharing as much as possible during our workaway experiences, both gaining and receiving knowledge and offering as much as we can. We love it when I feel I have really contributed towards a project and helped our hosts to achieve a specific endeavour. We are eager to learn more about living consciously, mindfully and sustainably. We are passionate about starting my our smallholding and endeavour to learn as much as possible about permaculture, ecoconstruction and other sustainable farming methods.

    We love adventure and would be very happy to be out in nature and have the opportunity to explore. We aren't shy to hard work and no task is too big or small. We are very sociable and would love to make new friends and meet new people. We revel in the opportunity to soak up new cultures and share our own.

    Overall, we are are very flexible and can adapt to a variety of different tasks. If you like our profile and believe that we could spend time with you and help you with a particular job or project please get in touch. We would love to embark upon our workaway experience as soon as possible to get the most out of our time before we leave.

    Please let me know if you have any further questions about our previous experience or interests. We can't wait to here from you and hopefully start our next adventure with you!
    :D

    Kindest regards,
    Nicole and James.

    ________________________
    Workaway experience:

    Nicole:

    I sparked a love for the Spanish language when I spent three months as an Au Pair in Madrid. My level is still basic but I love to practice. I would love the opportunity to learn more, so it would be a bonus to spend time with someone who could help me develop my abilities by chatting in Spanish for a while.

    I spent one month working on a multi functional farm in Sevilla. I had one of the most amazing experiences. So much so I decided to move to Sevilla for a further six months to study! I frequently visited my workaway hosts there and formed some incredible friendships. The work included predominantly working in La Huerta; weeding, harvesting and planting, tending to the animals and general maintenance of the grounds. I spent one of my weeks there working in the bar. It was a fantastic opportunity to practice my Spanish and meet the locals. I spent an additional full week working with the children's summer camp. Another fantastic opportunity to practice Spanish, since the level was more appropriate for my own!

    My next workaway experience was in the Albufera region of Portugal. I spent two weeks working in the idyllic mountains. My responsibilities consisted primarily of weeding, general maintenance and construction. I really enjoy engaging in physical work and the feeling of accomplishment at the end of the day. I had the opportunity to engage in various physical work such as replacing a roof and laying AstroTurf.

    After I completed my studies in Sevilla I had the pleasure of spending three weeks on another smallholding situated high in the Sierra mountains before returning to Scotland. Situated high in the Sierra mountains, I adored the blissful nature. My duties were similar, maintaining the crops, cultivating, planting and harvesting. I completed a paint job I was proud of and helped with general maintenance. My wonderful hosts left me as caretaker of the property and animals for a period of 5 days. During which I feel I displayed my reliability and responsible work ethic.

    Lastly, I spent two months in Bulgaria on two of the most incredible Workaways. Both projects were focused on grounds maintenance, landscaping and permaculture.

    James and Nicole:

    James and I (Nicole) embarked upon our first work away experience five years ago and had the most incredible time. We are very excited for our next adventure! We spent a period of two months volunteering on Organic Farms throughout The Netherlands and Czech Republic. We gained experience in permaculture and other sustainable farming methods. We are enthusiastic to learn more in the hope that one day we can have our own smallholding. We also spent time volunteering for a local arts festival, in which we ran workshops, created art displays and spent time running an exhibition. Furthermore, on one of the farms we took delight in caring for and spending time with their children.

    At our workaway in Czech Republic our main duties included carpentry and woodwork. Our talented host Ivan had built his home and various other buildings on his land with his own hands. It was wonderful to be a part of it and see what can be achieved with such passion. The first farm we lived on catered to groups of up to 60 people at a time, embarking on spiritual retreats. We assisted with attending to and catering for these guests, along with our duties on the farm.

  • Interessengebiete

    Strand
    Natur
    Camping
    Erlebnissportarten
    Yoga / Wellness
    Tanzen
    Wandern
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Sprachen
    Kunst & Design
    Darstellende Künste
    Heimwerken & DIY
    Schreiben
    Bücher
    Musik
    Videoaufnahmen
    Kochen & Backen
    Vegetarier / Veganer

    mehr
  • Bereiche, die uns interessieren oder in denen wir anderen etwas beibringen können

    Interessiert uns:  

    Seniorenbetreuung
    Karitative Arbeit

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Kunstprojekte

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    We both have experience in a variety of different sectors and have been lucky to acquire a multitude of skills, such as: catering, waiting tables, bar tending, house keeping, working with children, teaching English, wood work, organic farming, photography, acting, theatre workshops, videography and more.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Dieser Workawayer gibt an, dass er/sie dir gern seine/ihre Sprache(n) beibringen oder selbst eine neue Sprache lernen würde. Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn/sie, um Einzelheiten zu besprechen.

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    27 & 27

  • Nationalität

    Scottish

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Hayfever, dust, animals

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No Meat, no dairy.

Feedback


Freunde

Fotos

Feedback