Jocelyn

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Großbritannien, Spanien, USA

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    01.04.2020 - 01.10.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Beschreibung

    Hey, I'm Jocelyn! I'm 24 years-old, from London, and I'm an aspiring grower training in organic horticulture. Having spent the past couple of months working on a council waste and recycling project, which has since has ground to a halt, I'm very keen to get back out of this crazy urban existence and lend a hand wherever it may be needed!

    A couple of years ago, after graduating from university with a degree in anthropology, I began to realise that a lot of what I'd learnt about culture, politics and societal issues could be brought together with my passion for sustainability by taking part in growing food. What's great is that it doesn't stop there; food growing is linked to so many other forms of self-sufficient, community-based and regenerative living.

    I spent some time working for an environmental education charity, helping to run nature-based workshops for children and young people, but eventually realised I needed to go away and spend time on farms to learn in a more intensive and practical way. I spent 5 months in Spain on Workaway and WWOOF projects, learning about organic and biodynamic growing, community supported agriculture, permaculture and self-sufficiency.

    Coming back to London, I decided to pursue formal training in horticulture, choosing an organic site in North London as my starting point. Now, my training has gone online for the remainder of non-assessed sessions, and the work I was doing has been suspended. I would like to take this opportunity to spend time on practical agroecological or permacultural projects/farms. Outside of this, I enjoy hiking, wild swimming and finding adventures wherever possible. I take my wildflower ID book wherever I go and can often be found amongst the undergrowth looking for something edible!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    My experiences on Workaway and WWOOF projects in Spain a year ago introduced me to the world of community growing, agroecology and self-sufficiency. Since then I have completed my Level 1 in food growing, almost finished my Level 2 in practical horticulture skills (both taught at OrganicLea Workers Cooperative) and will complete a Level 3 in Community Orcharding with The Orchard Project in August.

    These courses have given me introductory and improving knowledge, skills and experience of horticultural production and the principles of organic gardening. I've also been reading more about permaculture and the circular, connected and communal systems that this design framework envisions. Any examples of this being put into practice are exciting to see!

    I can prepare beds for planting, propagate plants from seed and cuttings, graft and prune fruit trees (and bushes), plant trees, transplant seedlings, identify common weeds (and remove them if necessary!), harvest crops and care for soil and plants following no-dig or light cultivation methods.

    On previous Workaways I have also helped with some basic construction work and learnt how to use machinery like a strimmer and power hose. I'm interested in all elements of self-sufficiency, and although I know a little more about the growing side I'm really keen to get stuck in with things like landscaping, building, irrigation or energy generation. I've begun to pick up green woodworking and would like to learn about carpentry wherever possible!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Learning Spanish

  • Alter

    24

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Vegetarian

Profil ist verbunden mit:

sginsburg


Fotos

Feedback