Grace

aus: USA

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    USA

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    10.06.2019 - 05.07.2019

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Beschreibung

    Hello, my name is Grace. I am a Filipino-American in my twenties. I am a recent college grad looking to spend some time in the countryside before I start working full-time in Chicago in July.

    I graduated with honors from business school in Chicago with a double major in international business and marketing. I have an incredible passion for education reform and enjoy learning about other countries' education systems. I start work in July at a tech-education start-up in Chicago. I studied in Rome, Italy for a year, am extremely adaptable, and have traveled to 25+ countries.

    I have a free-spirited, respectful personality. I've hitchhiked, attended rainbow gatherings, backpacked Europe, shadowed schools in the Philippines for a research project on education, performed spoken word poetry, volunteered at native american reservations, and couchsurfed (yes, the app! www.couchsurfing.com/people/grace-mab) among other experiences. I hope to do projects in the future that revolve around education in various countries through Fulbright research or other programs, and spend a month at a Buddhist monastery in Asia to gain a deeper understanding of mindfulness. My reason for traveling with Workaway is because I want to continue pushing myself out of my comfortable city life and exchange conversation, ideas, and lifestyles with different people. My favorite quote is by Aristotle: “Educating the mind without educating the heart is no education at all.” I love staying with host families and getting to know their family culture. In high school, I headed the Asian American Club where we celebrate Asian cultures and teach students about the 'why' behind the practice. In college, I was president of the International Business Society where we host international speakers to educate students on the global business climate. I also participated in various cultural dance events to teach students about cultures outside their own. To me, teaching culture through immersion & experience is an integral part of a holistic education.

    My current mission is to go farming and learn more about how to care for the environment. I've been spending a lot of time at my university's retreat center, which is imbedded in a forest, and want to spend an extended amount of time working the land. I want to know how to care for plants and eventually start a small garden of my own back home and share my knowledge about the environment.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Kinderbetreuung
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️MANUAL LABOR*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ I helped build porches for trailer homes while on a mission trip. I have basic gardening knowledge and would like to expand my skills in this area. I am also very clean and organized. My Filipino grandma taught me well how to keep a space clean and complete housework duties. I am young, healthy and fit, and have experience doing yard work in my home.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️INTERPERSONAL SKILLS, CHILDCARE, AND TUTORING*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ I am a native English speaker and can tutor the English language and teach basic Chinese. In the past, I was a teacher's assistant at a Chinese immersion program called StarTalk. The second oldest out of four daughters, I know how to take care of children and get along with people. I've stayed with two host families: a semester in Rome and a summer in Shanghai. I've also had sales and customer service experience in case you need help with tourists.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ADMINISTRATIVE/PROFESSIONAL QUALIFICATIONS*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ I have intermediate computer / website design skills as I had majored in Marketing in university (here is my professional online portfolio of my skills and experiences: gracemabulay.weebly.com ). I am skilled at public speaking and can help you with presentations. I am overall incredibly organized and can help with administrative work, such as business email writing, calendar scheduling, presentation creating, etc.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️CREATIVE*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ I love dancing, especially swing dancing. I play the violin and have performed at several paid venues such as weddings, car showings, nursing homes, etc. I also previously tutored children (elementary and middle school age) on violin technique. I also love to write and perform spoken word poetry and interned at an art education in Rome that helped elementary school children interpret art for themselves.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️CONVERSATIONALIST & CURIOUS*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️ I am incredibly open-minded and love learning. I work for an education company that trains students how to ask critical questions and engage in their schoolwork on a deeper level. I take this approach with me to every situation I am in and I can't wait to immerse and adapt to your environment and help in the best way I can.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Elementary Chinese, Conversational Tagalog

  • Alter

    21

  • Nationalität

    Filipino-American

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Fotos

Feedback